We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #506 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Edinburgh West. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Edinburgh’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Carvery has good range of cooked meats with an excellent plentiful supply of fresh vegetables, prices are very reasonable as well. Service was very good and would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    154
    77
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Do Not eat here, if your english, got told there would be a 45 mins wait for a table, during our wait, they were sitting locals that had just walked in, after waiting 1 hour i approach the desk and asked how long just got told in a very rude voice, when its ready, i have eaten in many toby carvery and never been treated so badly, never again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank imccaffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

It may not be the Ritz but you get a good, delicious hearty meal for a low price. If you are a vegetarian then their may not be a great choice for you. This place is a favourite for our family at christmas time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great great food with great great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

With an overnight stay nearby we decided, on the strength of reviews, to dine at the Carvery. Two vegetarians and one carnivore were extremely pleased with the selection of food on offer and very impressed with the service and presentation. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The food on offer was well prepared and very tasty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank selkiesave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We eat here at least once a month and we always get great foor and great service. The place is always jumping but the staff never seemed fluster or troubled, The food is well prepared and the choice is always first class. Only downside for us is the fact we dont have a restaurant like this nearer where we live.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eyeball1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing