We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishers

Fishers
Ranked #44 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We recently had a very nice meal at Fishers on a busy Saturday evening. The fish was beautifully cooked and generously portioned. With a location right on the Shore it's one of the nicest restaurants in town and much better value for the quality of food than some of the other fish restuarants in the city (Ondine in particular, whilst it has lovely food has some eye watering prices and small portions). Fishers also own the Shore bar and restaurant next door so we popped in there after dinner for a night cap before heading home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElleGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    232
    41
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A gem.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visiting our son in Edinburgh and letting him chose the restaurants knew that this would be good, and we were not disappointed, from start to finish it was excellent. The friendly staff, the cosy atmosphere, and excellently prepared and presented food led to a great evening. We were seated in the bar area, which we knew we would be, but it was fine, and interesting to see just how many people came in for a table and were disappointed as the restaurant was fully booked (must have been over 20 in the hour and a half we were there). Two of our group had fish, one had steak and I had the starter of asparagus and poached egg with a side of vegetables and potatoes, all excellent, but the star of the show must go to the sticky toffee pudding!
Highly recommended, but be sure to reserve your table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bazjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
299 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Highly recommend sea food and excellent friendly service. Appetizers scallops and king prawns. Entrée salmon and Cod both done to perfection

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeddaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mussels!!!!!!!!! DIVINE mussels :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Fishers is fantastic.
There's a real sense of being in one of Edinburgh's hidden gems here.
The service was very good - I was particularly impressed by the waiter's confidence and pride when we commented on just how fresh and amazing the mussels were.
Our waitress was very nice but upon ordering, she unfortunately misled me.... I had asked what the meal was on one of the neighbouring tables - she told me it was the Bouillabaisse, even though I thought it looked more like the Puttanesca (as a main).
I trusted her confidence and ended up ordering the wrong dish - which was a shame as the Puttanesca and all that lovely shellfish had got me all excited - and the Bouillabaisse was not as exciting.
However, the fish is wonderfully fresh and tasty and there's a lovely atmosphere here with a basically well-run ship.

My partner started with Mussels - the star of the meal really. I started with queen scallops - nice but a little underwhelming. Then my partner had the bream - deliciously prepared with definite hints of some Indian flavours going on (which we both felt would probably have been better suited to the cod that was in the middle of my Bouillabaisse I had than all over his very fresh bream, which slightly overwhelmed the natural tastiness of such a fish).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gab8eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Fishers is the place for seafood. We had an excellent meal. Service was friendly and professional. Recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tejwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishers also viewed

 

Been to Fishers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing