We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10 ticked every box”

Wedgwood The Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“10 out of 10 ticked every box”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We dined here on New years day night and had the Tasting menu. We opted for the matching wine package also. The variety of food was fabulous, there was Bread and Canapes followed by Rabbit, Scallops, Duck, Seabass, Venison, a pre dessert and an interesting main dessert of Parsnip creme brulee with Thyme icecream! The food was faultless, there was a nice gap between each course which we appreciate and the wine to match was lovely too. The restaurant is beautifully done out, it is very cosy, warm and welcoming.Service was great too.The bill was huge but you definately pay for quality and we would definately return next time we stay in Edinburgh

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank candice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,239
    346
    123
    50
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting tasting menu”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came here for the 9 course Christmas tasting menu and were definitely satisfied. The menu is well balanced and the service is attentive but not overbearing. (I love how they would fold my boyfriend's napkin every time he left to the loo.) It took us 3 hours to get through the menu but the service was excellent from beginning to finish. At times the food was a bit heavy handed on the salt and the panna cotta dense but otherwise the food was very good. For me, the standouts were the scallop which was deliciously fresh and well seared and the oxtail lasagne which was nicely cheesy. The complimentary palate cleanser is a very nice touch. It's not cheap but a great restaurant for a special occasion. Recommended (but remember to book in advance).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nohighlandsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful start to the Hogmanay celebrations”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had lunch here on New Years Eve which was absolutely delicious. The set menu is excellent value with plenty of choice.
The staff were polite and attentive and assisted with wine choices to match our meal.
I look forward to returning here at the first opportunity.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“torch parade”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

i returned with intrepedation having said i would probably only return for lunch only but what a great meal one hundred times better than the last time.good service and good food you cannot ask for anymore

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay ,Fife.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Menu.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I had lunch here on 29.12.12.The food was ecellent-along the lines of "Nouvelle Cuisine"-very well presented and prepared and all courses very tasty.We particularly enjoyed the glass of "Tempranillo" we ordered with the meal.!Ambience of the upstairs part of the restaurant was relaxing with good views out over Edinburghs "High Street".Service was friendly and efficient without ever being intrusive.Liked the individual hand towels in the toilet! Highly recommended for anyone looking for lunch in Edinburgh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harbourplaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wedgwood The Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Wedgwood The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing