We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply yum”

Wedgwood The Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $87
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Town
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Simply yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Visited here for our wedding anniversary. The restaurant is warm and welcoming, service is attentive without being in your face and the food is out of this world. I started with the scallops which were perfectly cooked, moved onto the lamb which was again perfect and finished with the sticky toffee. All was extremely tasty, well presented. Hopefully will be visiting again soon

Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,184
    335
    121
    50
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Who needs Michelin stars?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I simply cannot visit Edinburgh without enjoying a meal in this delightful restaurant. They are Michelin Star quality without the pompous bits. Booking is now essential due to their growing popularity and the fact that this is a small intimate restaurant.

I love the beer menu almost as much as the food menu and wine list. Extremely well prepared and presented dishes with a Scottish twist. Excellent, attentive service. Understandably busy. Particularly during the festival season.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExiledScotNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, but didn't quite live up to expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had really wanted to eat at Wedgewood on our last visit to Edinburgh in 2011, but couldn't get a table. So we were really looking forward to going there this time. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed, though we were in the basement room, which felt much quieter than the ground floor. The food was beautifully presented, but unexpectedly very unseasoned - perhaps that explained the presence of a cruet on the table. It is unusual to be expected to pay for amuse bouches (they were only available when purchased with a glass of champagne). The meat (both venison and pigeon breasts) was excellent, but was served very rare despite asking for medium rare. The 'foraged' elements, for which the restaurant is renowned, were scarce and made little impact on the plate. However the general experience was fine and the food was good, it just wasn't quite as good as we'd hoped.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NOF_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauder, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

A number of our friends have recommended Wedgewood. We decided to go for lunch for my partners birthday. Whilst the food was fantastic and did not disappoint, the service and friendliness of staff was very poor. The staff were not familiar with the menu. We didnt once see a smile or were asked at any point in the meal if we were enjoying our food. Each dish was removed after each course with an abrupt ...are you finished?! We left the restaurant having to collect our own coats from the cloakroom...we will not be returning. We are very disappointed as we were really looking forward to our experience at Wedgewood

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Lunch -Fine dining at bistro prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

It may be on the Royal Mile, but towards the lower end and fairly unobtrusive. We manage to walk in for lunch on a Wednesday in mid September, where it was moderately busy, but not bursting. Why not? Two courses for £12, three for £16 - and a chef who really know about flavour, from the dipping oil we started with, right to the puddings. My pannacotta was perfect in texture and vanillary perfection, and my wife's chocolate ganache again had a wonderful texture and the fine blend of bitterness and sweetness. The other courses were equally good and while £12 seems a lot for a large glass of wine, my wife tells me that it was a very good Pouilly Fumé!
Best meal this week so far in Edinburgh - someone's going to have to go some to beat it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wedgwood The Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wedgwood The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing