We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
Review of Scotline Tours

Scotline Tours
Ranked #87 of 203 Tours in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scotline Tours invites you to have an unforgettable experience discovering a country full of history, culture and legends. Our luxury air-conditioned coaches will take you through some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world. You will be accompanied by professional guides with a wide knowledge of the country and its history to make your visit to Scotland memorable. They will bring Scotland's history to life, and ensure that you have a fun filled and memorable day. Experience with us the ultimate day tour to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands and other stunning and interesting locations throughout Scotland!The best coaches and the best prices of any tours of their type operating from Edinburgh city centre.Scotline Tours coaches gives our visitors an unrivalled Scottish travel experience, as they are transported in comfort, enjoying the panorama of the best that Scotland has to offer, through the giant touring coach windows.Our drivers/guides will show you the beautiful sights of Scotland - lochs, glens and castles, steeped in Scottish history and full of magic.
Qormi, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We took the Lochness tour and it was worth it. Although it was a one day tour, we were far more than happy that we managed to visit a lot of places, with a comfortable bus and a great tour leader(Fred).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    45
    29
    18
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery but beware the hard sell”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We took the Highlands/Loch Ness day trip. The Scottish highlands didn't fail to disappoint, amazing scenery with the autumn colours. The bus was very comfortable and modern but just a few points worth mentioning. The trip is advertised as having an "optional extra" of the castle and boat trip at Loch Ness. As my wife and I were on a budget we were happy to not pay for the added 17.50 pounds. Once we were on the bus, our driver (Fred) put the hard sell on everyone and basically said that you'd be sitting in a hotel cafe for 2 hours if you didn't want to pay for the castle tour and boat trip, and that you had to do both. There is no reason why they couldn't offer the castle visit (7.50 pounds) and then bus people to meet the boat trip. The boat trip was not worth the extra money. I think the company should revisit this approach. Also, the 45 min stop at a tourist shop/restaurant/roadhouse when we're only 1 hour from Edinburgh was another way to upsell customers at their affiliated tourist traps.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a fantastic day on the loch Ness tour. The driver called it a monster tour and it was, along with fantastic scenery we had an informative and funny tour guide with a mountain of knowledge he definitely made the trip more enjoyable. The views of Ben Nevis and the 3 sister's were amazing and the war memorial overlooking the mountains was poignant. Would recommend taking some bread for the ducks at the loch as they do follow you. Lovely clean warm bus with toilet facilities not that we needed them as we had plenty of stops.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empoli, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great tour! A plus the fact that they accept small kids”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

So, when you decide to take one of these tours, they're not much different, at least from looking at them in the respective the various brochures from different tour companies. Stops are very similar (both the number of them and the actual places), duration, cost, all is pretty much comparable, if not interchangeable. We wanted a 1 day tour going to the highlands and touching Loch Ness, and the reason why we picked Scotline was they're _the_only_one_ (or at least the only one we found) that accept children below 5 (our daughter is 3). They're lower limit is actually 3 (phew! :-P)

Luckily enough, we enjoyed the tour quite a bit. The bus driver/guide was very nice, and really full of both information and (sometimes bad :-/) jokes that he shared with during the whole trip. Stops were short, especially the ones for the food (30-45 mins), but I don't think it could be done otherwise. The choice of going to Urquhart Castle and allow the people to have a (short) boat trip on Loch Ness is really a superb one: the only other place where I've seen places that beautiful was during a trip in Iceland we did some years ago. Just great, really.

Booking was nice and easy: as soon as we found the brochure we called to reserve the seats, and the dropped by their office to pay. We also got a discount, since it looks like October is a quiet time of the year.

The places where we stopped for food were nice enough, all offering a wide variety of either sandwiches or cooked meals. We didn't have much trouble finding something vegetarian in any of them.

So, with the few time we had available, the fact that we're not really comfortable at renting a car and driving in the UK (_wrong_ side of the road, you know that?) and the fact that Lara is still so little, I don't think we would have had any alternative to see those places than a tour like this. Having done that, I'm 100% sure that we would have regretted not doing it, and Scotline Tours, despite being the only choice we had, revealed a pretty good choice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarioFaggioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenaar, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Booked with Highland tours but got Scotline tours instead”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

So I booked my highland tour via the Highlandtours.com website but when the day of my tour came I was put on a Scotline tours bus. I am not sure if they are the same company or what but I have emailed Highlandtours to find out.
I would never have booked a Scotline tour because of the reviews they have. Out of all the tours I looked at this company has the worst reviews.
Anyhow about the tour we did on the 27/10/13
We had Fred as our driver, he was nice and was trying to make us all laugh which was nice but I felt he could have given us more information about the Scottish history especially on the drive back. We sat in complete silence for over 2 hours, there was nothing to see as it was dark but the drive back could have been more enjoyable if he was telling us things about scotland or even put the music on.
The day i went was really bad weather so the few photo stops we had would have been short but Fred was like' 2 mintues only, if your not back in 2 minutes ill be driving off without you' im aware he was probably trying to be funny but we only stopped twice for photos and it was freezing so no one would have been out of the bus for long anyhow. and because the stops we so short it would have been nice to have a couple more.
over all i wouldnt recommend this tour to anyone

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccar3126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotline Tours also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Scotline Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing