We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food & Wine evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plumed Horse - CLOSED

The Plumed Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $103
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Relocated from Castle Douglas to Leith (lucky for us), The Plumed Horse is the brainchild of superstar Chef/Proprietor Tony Borthwick who earned the restaurant a Michelin Star in 2001. Although the move to Leith has meant giving up the star it can’t possibly be too long before the Plumed Horse is decorated again. Stylishly simple, the restaurant is all white walls, white linen and light and airy space, the ideal backdrop to an evening of gastronomic delights. The imaginative menu has lost nothing in its relocation, still boasting impressively modern cuisine with a good classical twist and presentation which almost stops you digging in with that fork. The Plumed Horse’s star has certainly not fallen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Wine evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited for the Trimbach evening of food and wine on Tuesday 12th March. This is our 4th or 5th visit to The Plumed Horse and it just gets better and better.
The food was outstanding and the wine pairings were excellent. The wines were explained to us by Jean Trimbach and this and his wine stories all helped make the evening a lot of fun. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be watching The Plumed Horse Facebook page for more of their special events. Well done The Plumed Horse for making us always want to come back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank annecampbell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanMBruce, General Manager at The Plumed Horse, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello,
I'm glad you have taken the time to write so positively of our Trimbach evening. We were particularly proud that Jean Trimbach had decided to visit Plumed Horse again. One of two cross channel "gigs" on his March 2013 trip.
Tony and I particularly enjoy Alsace wines and Trimbach is amongst our favourites. Classy stuff.
On that evening, once again, we were proud to have had their main man on site...
Our Tony Borthwick's often works with major wine makers to create stunning combinations. We too thought this to be one of the very special ones.
Many thanks
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    81
    32
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent food, efficient unpretentious service in relaxed surroundings.
The menu is descriptive without resorting to the verbose micro-description which is unfortunately common these days.
Flavour combinations are unusual but work perfectly.
The service team achieve a pleasing balance of friendly efficiency.
The location is unusual but we experienced no problems.
All in all a very good restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BigACScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanMBruce, General Manager at The Plumed Horse, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello BigACScotland,
That is a perfect review.
As with our menus I will refrain from unnecessary wordiness (I concur) and both quickly and sincerely "Thank you!"
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pretentious Twadle”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overpriced food, located in a dreadfull part of Leith with gangs of kids banging on the windows (staff too scared to tell them to go away) Food quality good but not in the same standard as the Kitchin which is about the same price. My tip would be to spend a little bit more and put up with the 4 month waiting list for the Kitchin (this place is meidcore by comparison) or go to Wedgwood on the Cannongate where the food is better and costs less.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
16 Thank PAW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanMBruce, General Manager at The Plumed Horse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
You wrote an awful lot of reviews on March 15th. I can only assume you were jaded by the time you got to our's.
You gave your piece the title "Pretentious Twadle" and went on to write exactly that. Twaddle, incidentally, has two 'd's. Also "dreadful" has only one 'l'.
Your writing is un-detailed, inaccurate, downright unfair and unnecessary. Also, personal slights on our staff are wholly unacceptable. You have actually given them a fairly high rating in your assessment, so what's the cruel barb against their bravery all about? They are caring in every respect of or diners' welfare. No matter what!
The slight tap, and it was a singular slight tap, on the window that night was viewed as something "Best left alone". Your Hitleresque view that all locals should be exterminated is a tad extreme, don't you think?
We live in harmony with our neighbours, some of which run the acclaimed Malt Whisky Society. Next door, the recently reopened and revitalised "The Vintage" (ex Cafe Fish) is set to become a place of very much interest. This, "The French Quarter", is a good part of Leith which is characterful and colourful. We all play our part in keeping it that way.
You too have also played your part. You have opened up discussion about prices and pretentiousness. Pretentious we are not! It's that simple! We're not! Anyone who knows us well will know that. It's also well documented to the contrary on TA. Hallelujah! The prices? They are easily checked out online. I invite readers of TripAdvisor to do just that.
Now...Where was I? Oh yes. Answering the other reviews that are so positive. Goodbye and goodnight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a voucher for the 8 course tasting menu, so went last Friday 8th March. We were early, this was not a problem, and had a choice of all the seats. The place soon filled up and was soon 3/4s full. Rather than ramble with every detail like some, We will just say these few words. Ian, the front of house partner was great, especially his wit, the rest of front of house, whos names we asked for, to mention on here(which we lost, so sorry), were all fantastic, very pleasant and efficient. Onto the food, yes, small portions, but 8 courses, and THANKS for giving me 1 of each roll! Overall after all courses we were satisfied. Each course was well presented, and described at service. Wine very reasonably priced across all levels compared to other restaurants.

Our ONLY criticism, would be the bijou(x) toilets, although compact they were spotless.

All in all a great experience, We will be back to sample the a la carte menu. Once again Many thanks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newkybr00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanMBruce, General Manager at The Plumed Horse, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello there,
I got a few personal mentions here. I'm glad you liked me. Whew!
I thought you were horrible! Actually, you know that's not true. We had fairly lengthy discussions which included prtion sizes etc. We agreed that the object was not to become overbloated but comfortably satisfied. You agreed on the night that you were indeed happy bunnies. Thanks for keeping your word and writing so well of us.
Toilets. They are smaller than we'd like too. Again, as discussed an ongoing project. We'll get there. Bear with us.
Thanks for coming along and we look forward to your promised return.
Ian
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Michelin star worthy
Great menus, excellent wine list.
Food was fantastic in presentation, flavour and quality
Service amazing, in fact the best i have come across by far both personal and impersonal just when you need it.
Small, cozy, lovely ambiance.
What sealed it - when the waiters wine recommendation was not to our palate, it was changed without a second of hesitation.
Will we go back - 100% certain. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Thank you guys for an excellent evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanMBruce, General Manager at The Plumed Horse, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hawk345, I am delighted to read your review and look forward to your return.
Best wishes to you.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plumed Horse also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing