We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lochness Tour with Excellent Tour Guide”
Review of Gray Line Scotland

Gray Line Scotland
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.70*
and up
Loch Ness and The Scottish Highlands Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #43 of 221 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line offers sightseeing tours around Scotland. Edinburgh, Scotland's Capital City and arguably one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Historic yet vibrant with cultural and culinary delights and architecturally stunning. Using Edinburgh as a base we take you round Scotland where Landscapes can change quite dramatically in 30 minutes. Guaranteeing a kaleidoscope of memories in just one day. We can collect you from your hotel or guest house to begin your journey.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our (Me and my wife) first trip to Scotland first week of November 2013. Took a day tour to Glencoe, Lochness, Inverness. It turned out to be an amazing one. To add to the beautiful landscape of the Highlands of Scotland, Graham our pal (I wish not to call him a driver) and guide who drove us all the way from Edinburgh made our day one of the most memorable ones. I surely wish to go once again on this tour and specially if Graham is around. Thank you very much Graham and Gray Line for making our day one of the most memorable ones.

2  Thank ashok_hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tour Consultant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 296 of 489 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We did this tour in December as a couple. Our tour guide was Brian, he was very informative and seemed to have a wealth of knowledge and the ability to talk forever...and ever and ever!!! I know now about how trees are planted in the highlands, when he was married, how his wife's hip is, where he has been for holidays, where he's going on holidays - it's endless, there was a near constant stream of conscious thought for about 5 hours!!!!! And he also doesn't like people talking while he talks, so the two poor Mexicans sitting behind him found out.

View of the highlands were amazing, I mean out of this world. The cruise out onto Loch Ness is a must, it was the highlight of the day.

Would recommend the tour if you really want to see the highlands and can't rent out a car. It's well priced and hotel pickup is great. Would 100% say do not bring irritable people/teenagers/children on this tour.

Thank Driscollll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tour Consultant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our tour. We're glad you had a good day on the whole and got to see the best the highlands have to offer. We were sorry to read, however, that you found the day a little drawn out. When this tour was created, it was designed to be reasonably long so that passengers can see as much as possible, "The Highlands in a day", as we often put it.

We were also sorry to hear that you felt Brian shared too much. He likely was just putting forth a personal anecdote or two to keep the day light and friendly and make him approachable. Passengers take these tours for many different reasons, some wish to sit back and admire the scenery, while others want to learn as much as possible. So it can be difficult to cater to everyone's taste, and we are sorry if it was not to your's.

Hopefully this has put your mind to rest with some of the issues you felt with the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

It is a day long bus trip with some full stops. It kind of gets boring sometimes but the views are usually great. Loch Ness is really amazing, I strongly recommend the boat trip around it.

Thank Wesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tour Consutlant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our tour. We are glad that you enjoyed the day even if, at times, the duration seemed a bit much for you. We would agree that the best way to see Loch Ness is by the boat, it's just not the same from the shore and we're pleased that you had a good time.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had been booked on the Loch Lomond tour only to be rang and told it wasn't running (due to lack of bookings so no fault of the company) and would we accept a place on the Loch Ness tour. Certainly, we said.

And we're glad we did. The views and sights were simply stunning, the coach was comfortable and the journey smooth despite the twisty nature of the roads, and everything ran perfectly on time. Alan the driver and guide was a wealth of information and was very engaging throughout. My mother marvelled at his ability to both regale us and navigate the bends in the road!

I believe that some people were displeased that they weren't being dropped off at their hotels (we were picked up in the city centre so I didn't take that into consideration for my score) where they had been picked up, but other than that I heard no complaints.
All in all a fantastic day and will certainly take people on Gray Line again when I have visitors in Edinburgh.

1  Thank Dacr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tour Consultant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our tour. We're glad that you enjoyed the stunning countryside and I've informed Alan that you were happy with him as a guide. Unfortunately when the winter is much quieter than the summer months, we are forced to cancel tours with low attendance, but it's good to hear that you were happy with the alternative provided.

With regards to the drop-offs, while we advertise a morning pick-up service from convenient points across the city centre, the drop-offs in the evening are more restricted. This is due, in part, to the drivers being legally restricted by how long they can drive for in a day and also that we do not have the same support vehicle assistance available to us in the evening that makes the morning pick-up service possible.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back on board in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We did the Loch Lomond coach tour with Grey Line in late September. The trip was a great success for our 11 year old son who still raves about the coach driver/guide Graham. He made the journey interesting, entertaining and downright funny. The adults got to see a bit of Glasgow on the way, and a boat tour of the Loch (not very exciting but OK). Lunch at Aberfoyle on the way was good, especially seeing the unusual farm animals at the coach stop. The trip back via the highlands was a treat, a chance to see the "real Scotland". The stop at Fort William was a let down for us as the castle had been done up in a "faux" style. Much preferred the Edinburgh Castle renovation. Would have taken the Loch Ness tour if we had more time. HIghly memorable, my son still talks about the Glaswegian "soap dodgers".

Thank SunnygirlHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Scotland also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing