We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day Tour of the Highlands and Lochness with Greyline”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gray Line Scotland

Gray Line Scotland
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.19*
and up
Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and The Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #42 of 194 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line offers sightseeing tours around Scotland. Edinburgh, Scotland's Capital City and arguably one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Historic yet vibrant with cultural and culinary delights and architecturally stunning. Using Edinburgh as a base we take you round Scotland where Landscapes can change quite dramatically in 30 minutes. Guaranteeing a kaleidoscope of memories in just one day. We can collect you from your hotel or guest house to begin your journey.
Abbey Wood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Day Tour of the Highlands and Lochness with Greyline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We did a 12 hour coach trip up to Lochness taking in Glencoe passing Stirling Castle through some wonderful scenery.We paid for the boat trip on Lochness which was interesting but unfortunately it rained. We travelled up to Inverness then back down past Perth. It was well worth it and our driver Brian was very knowledgeable and dropped us off where we asked. I would do it again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonAbbeyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback.
We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your touring experience with Gray Line Scotland despite the frequent Scottish rain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    84
    33
    11
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loch Ness and Highlands Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I did the Loch Ness and Highlands Tour in April and it was fantastic. It is a very long time on the bus but our driver/guide was amazing and full of knowledge. He (jerry) was awesome! I loved the fact that I got picked up from my hostel which made it so much easier. Gray Line did a really good job and I would book with them again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMcNeilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for touring with us and for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Rosslyn Chapel and Borders Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We took the Rosslyn Chapel and Borders Tour in early April of 2013. All in all we were satisfied with the experience and with the tour company. We were happy to be picked up at our guest house...saving us trying to navigate into town from our out-of-the-way accommodation early in the morning. The driver was a good and steady driver and had a good sense of humor and knowledge of the area and history of the places we visited. As far as the actual tour...it was cool to stop up at Scott's view...beautiful to see and got some pretty incredible pictures. Melrose Abbey and the town of Melrose...eh...probably could have skipped. It was a cute little town and the Abbey was interesting, but I would have traded time there with more time at Rosslyn. The Chapel and Castle were really interesting and worth the visit. Fun to be able to stop at Dobbies (where JK Rowling got the name for her beloved character)...but would have liked more time there to look around the store! But those preferences are my own...I realize no one tour is going to completely hit everything that you might want to do. The tour itself is really nice! All in all I think Gray Line offers a good service for the price and I would recommend them to my friends!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyHoltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed touring with Gray Line Scotland and appreciate all of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Did the Loch Lomond tour. It is a nine hour tour with stops in central glasgow, Loch Lomond, and Stirling castle. It is only transportation costs so the boat ride at Loch lomond and the entrance to stirling castle is extra. Our tour had only seven people on it but lots of room to spread out on the bus. Got picked up at our hotel and dropped off close to it, so it was very convienant. The driver was very informative and talked a lot of the time. The scenery in the Trossachs was awesome.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Loch Lomond Tour. Our 9 hour day was packed with sites. Very convenient being picked up directly at the hotel. Our driver/guide was "ok" and just did his job...nothing more ....nothing less. As compared to other tours we have been on this was average. I do recommend taking a tour. It is a great way to see the countryside and learn all about the history. Overall a good day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daveanddonna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We welcome all feedback, so thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on our tour.
I am disappointed to learn that you found your driver/guide to be average as we aim to provide you with an interesting and informative tour with a driver/guide who has a passion for Scotland.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Loch Lomond, The Highlands and Stirling Castle and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Scotland also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Gray Line Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing