We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loch Ness day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gray Line Scotland

Gray Line Scotland
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.50*
and up
Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and The Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #42 of 197 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line offers sightseeing tours around Scotland. Edinburgh, Scotland's Capital City and arguably one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Historic yet vibrant with cultural and culinary delights and architecturally stunning. Using Edinburgh as a base we take you round Scotland where Landscapes can change quite dramatically in 30 minutes. Guaranteeing a kaleidoscope of memories in just one day. We can collect you from your hotel or guest house to begin your journey.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loch Ness day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The tour started out great with a pick up at our hotel and only got better from there. I cannot say enough good about Brian, our driver/tour guide. He was entertaining, knowledgable, personable, organized and friendly. His wealth of knowledge about the history of the areas we visited, not to mention the rest of the world was amazing. He seemed to be able to conect on a personal level with each and every person on the bus. From the very begining he laid out the few bus rules (basically he asked that the people on the bus be polite and not talk over him while he is bringing the past to life) and set the atmosphere for an entertaining and educational day.
The tour itself was well laid out with ample opportunities for rest stops, snacks and photo ops. The ability to buy the tickets for the Loch Ness cruise from Brian directly instead of hoping for the best when arriving is a great bonus. This trip is a great opportunity to get a taste for the highlands not to mention a chance to catch a glimpse of Nessie without the hassle of renting a car and plotting a route.
I would reccomend this trip to anyone, the price is reasonable, the scenery and history spectacular and the service second to none. When you call ahead to book make sure Brian is your guide and you won't be disappointed!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank asmith2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    85
    33
    11
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loch ness tour with Brian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've traveled the world and have taken dozens of tours and without a doubt our tour guide Brian to the Highlands and Lochness on Sunday, May 20, 2012 was one of the BEST I've experienced! From the very beginning of the tour, Brian was very upfront with how the tour would go for the day and what stops to expect. The day was greatly enhanced by Brian's wealth of knowledge of Scotland and his personal travel experiences along the way. Keep in mind, this tour is not for parentings bringing small children; most people want to hear the history Brian provides and children talking, crying, etc would be a HUGE distraction on this tour. Even adult conversations need to be limited to low levels because sound carries easily on the bus. I was picked very close to my hotel, The Frederick House in the center of town, and returned to the same place at the end of the tour. The stops along the way were more than appropriate for snacks, lunch, restroom, photo stops, etc. The mountain views in the Highlands were some of the most amazing I've ever seen and Lochness didn't disappoint. If you're a dreamer, you may just actually see Nessie, if you're a dream crusher then have a pint while on the boat and relax, the ride is pleasant. I can't say enough about this tour, if you're in Edinburgh, this tour is a must. I highly recommend calling Gray Line to find out what day Brian is working, you will not be disappointed! He's the short bald Scottish driver with a ton of character. Thank you Brian for making my trip a memorable one!

Troy Woodham
Orlando, Fl

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TWoodham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic way to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you have a limited time in Scotland, this is the perfect way to get the most out of your trip. This is the only tour company that actually picks you up at your hostel. There was construction around where I was staying, and the driver made extra effort to get as close to me as possible. We took a scenic route up through the highlands, stopping several times in the best places for photo opportunities. Our driver drove very smoothly and slowly past the attractions we didn't get to stop at, so that we had ample opportunity to see and take pictures through the windows. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area, telling us stories of all the historical events, and providing background and explanations of the Celtic names. Stops on the way included breakfast at a Scottish cafe where we could get coffee and go outside to see Hamish the long haired Scottish cow and a couple stops in the middle of the beautiful highlands. We stopped at Loch Ness for two hours, where you could do an optional cruise of the lake (which was not really worth my extra 11 pounds, but better than staying in the tiny village). On the way back, we stopped at Urquhart Castle on Loch Ness for a photo opportunity, and the driver pointed out several more castles on the way home. We saw the Forth Rail Bridge right before we got back into Edinburgh. All in all, it was well worth every penny, and we sure got the most out of it. I think it was by far the best way to see the most of Scotland in a time crunch. And even though the trip was 12 hours, it didn't feel like it at all! There was a stop about every hour, and places to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner. As a solo traveler, I absolutely loved my trip and I recommend it to anyone thinking about visiting!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank arh3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Option in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I feel like you can really do most things in Edinburgh in 1 or 2 days so an excursion is a great option while staying there. We did a day trip to Loch Lomond, the Highlands, and Stirling Castle. I felt like we had adequate time at each of our stops and our driver was very helpful and nice. Only four of us were on the tour when I went and there was some rain and clouds (common in Scotland) but it was still a beautiful scene. The ideal way to do it would be to rent your own car and explore on your own for a day or two but for those like me who have limited time, this is a great option.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DLTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“itinerary not followed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Grayline tours are the only company to pick you up from your hotel, etc. On the occasion we went on the Lochness tour pick ups were a bit disorganised in that one pick up was initially missed and the resulting pickups were late, not by much. However it caused the driver Brian to be very frustrated and the resulting stops along the route did not stick to stopping areas and times. For example we did not stop at the first 'photo stop The stop at the cafe and "hairy coo" allowed little time. On the way to the lunch stop traffic was being halted because of a serious accident and as a result we had to "pull in" to an unscheduled stop to have some lunch. It was touch and go whether we would continue and initially the money paid for the Lochness boat tripn was refunded to us by Brian the driver/courier as we were not going to be allowed along the road. However this police decision was reversed and the road was open and we continued to Lochness ,returned money to the driver and those who still wanted to have the boatride were able to do so. The ride itself was interesting being able to take a picture of the monster whilst sailing. How? Take the trip and find out. The journey back did not include the full journey up to Invernessbeing cut short. Although we lost some time because of the accident we felt the journey should have given sufficient time for example to have a food stop at Pitlochry, whereas we were told 15/20 mins comfort stopeven though we stayed 30 mins eventually the initial time gave us little time than to "grab" a snack, even though the stop should have been longer. Brian the driver was helpful and meant well but as others have mentioned he was too over the top with his continued chat which wasn't all about the area we were visiting. He did not like chatter above, "church level" his words and particularly asking parents to keep their child quiet. Music was intermittent, totalling less than an hour. Quiet periods to enjoy the views would have been welcome. An Indian passenger labelled him,"a dictator! If you like this type of driver chat, jokes then this tour is for you, if not book elsewhere. Total tour time 13 hours

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dizz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Scotland also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Gray Line Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing