We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cantonese food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kweilin Cantonese Restaurant

Kweilin Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #583 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: At ‘Kweilin Cantonese Restaurant’, we serve a selection of Cantonese dishes that uses the finest local produce, with an emphasis on showcasing Scotland’s great, variety of fresh seafood. Since opening our doors in 1984 we have continued to build upon our reputation for serving exquisite and authentic Chinese food.We always aim to please our customers, striving to ensure that we provide a relaxed and enjoyable dining experience for every occasion. Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to ask a member of staff who would be glad to assist.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cantonese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Bit pricey, but cracking crispy beef and a lovely atmosphere with great service! Definitely an all-rounder, suits families and couples.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Littlewood82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    75
    22
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Crispy Duck !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It appears that other restuarants have been selling me Crispy Duck under false pretenses !!
The Kweilin does crispy duck like no other, I have never tasted the like or had my duck as crispy.
Service is excellent and staff always polite and approachable and smiling.
They take great care over the serving and presentation of their food.
Chopsticks are mandatory unless you ask for a knife and fork (which I had to), but I noticed that most of the restuarant were actually using their chopsticks, I will need to learn....looking around at what other people were eating all the food looked excellent and often intruiging, in little bamboo baskets, some tables have a 'lazy susan' to allow everyone to have a taste.
Great food, well presented and priced, I will be back !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghriogair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still one of the best in Edinburgh.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hadn't been here for years so wasn't sure whether it was the right choice for our works Christmas meal. Shouldn't have worried as it was very good. The quality of the food is excellent, we had a banquet so sampled a variety from the menu. There was 9 of us and nobody was disappointed. They were reasonably quiet for a Friday before Christmas so the level of service was also very good. Our only small complaint would be that they seemed to have forgotten one of our dishes but this was quickly rectified when pointed out. If, like me, you haven't been to a Chinese restaurant for a while, this is the place to remind you what you've been missing out on.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This rather unassuming restaurant in Edinburgh's New Town has been established for years, and deserves its excellent reputation for genuine Canonese cooking. The crispy salted prawns are especially delicious, as are the pancakes with duck and plum sauce. The cooking is well balanced and imaginative, the ingredients are fresh, and the staff friendly and attentive. Perhaps most astonishing of all is the fact that you can dine out on a fantastic banquet for such a modest price. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we went back again two weeks later. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobRoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not a bad lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We visited here for a team Christmas lunch. Lovely restaurant and equally good food. We all chose from the Christmas menu, which at £12.95 per head, was brilliant value given the quality of the food and the portions (although it's the first time I've ever had a Christmas lunch with no Christmas crackers on the table!).

Some confusion from our waitress over the 'optional 2nd course' which was priced at £4.95 for crispy duck - minimum 2 people. She insisted that it was an alternative to the first course which was a bit odd given it was described as an optional 2nd course. However when a couple of us queried along the same lines as our colleague she said she'd check with the manager and sure enough we had our crispy duck. It wasn't as good as the rest of the meal - I felt it was a bit dry, but we did all clear our plates.

I opted for the crispy seaweed as a starter, as did a couple of colleagues. Absolutely amazing and I'd definitely have it again. The general mix of starters all went down well as did the rather large main courses. Lots of happy noises from those eating lemon chicken, crispy beef, sea bass and the veggie option of bean curd with a great mix of vegetables and a decent amount of cashew nuts.

On the whole the service was good, however all the starters arrived apart from one and we all politely waited a good 5 minutes before tucking in just as our server re-appeared and a quick prompt brought the missing plate to the table. It was clearly forgotten about and made me wonder how difficult it would be to check that each diner has a plate of food in front of them given how they'd made a point of reading back the order so should have known all diners were having starters.

Not the best Chinese food I've eaten but definitely up there with the best contenders. They could do with turning the heating up a bit though, although perhaps being seated by a window was the reason I was cold throughout the meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dawndyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kweilin Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kweilin Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing