We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of David Bann

David Bann
Ranked #154 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My Wife and I are both meat eaters but were convinced by our daughter to try David Bann a number of years ago, this is our fourth visit and the mushroom bake was lovely, we do not miss having meat when the food is as tasty as this, the anniesse ? was great again. Staff were very obliging and welcoming as usual.
We will be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    405
    154
    55
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I would book a trip to Scotland simply to eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had only one day in Edinburgh on this trip and the day certainly was planned around being able to eat here. I am so grateful that and Edinburgh friend introduced me to this restaurant several years ago. I have never been disappointed with the food. I have never had better vegetarian food. I usually can get in without a reservation, but I tend to eat at off times. If one is staying at the Holiday Inn Express, it is very convenient; I would not think of eating anyplace else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMR3837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Even though its veggie its tremendous (and so is the price). Had an assumption of veggie food as all lentils and nuts but this proved how wrong I was.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vegetarian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic, classy and quiet. Took my Vegan friend here for a birthday meal and they quality of food is top notch. I am a meat eater but there was so much choice and the food is delicious. There aren't so many Vegetarian restaurants in Edinburgh but this one probably the best i have been to!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place boasts a small but innovative menu. Portions are generous and the food delicious. This restaurant came highly recommended by a friend and it was easy to see why. It was packed on a Friday night with diners of all demographics.
Obviously very popular so be sure to book if you're there on a weekend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Bann also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to David Bann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing