We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of The Canny Man's

The Canny Man's
Ranked #774 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Scottish, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I always feel at home and am welcomed. The food is fresh and the wine is always served as it should be. I love the relaxed atmosphere and am able to have lunch with dignity and as a respected customer. For me, just popping out to lunch is to go to the Canny Man's :))

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cybermish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    56
    30
    21
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“over-rated”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything was mediocre and pretentious - the indifferent service, the presentation of the food, the quality of the food, the wait for what is, in fact, an open sandwich! There are quality places in this city to eat and drink - don't bother with this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb service and food”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were celebrating a special birthday and decided to use our local, the Canny Man's. We were a group of 14 in all and they managed to accomodate us all together in a side room away from the rest of the busy bar. It was a Friday night and as a regular I knew they didn't serve food however they made an exception due to the special occasion. They also included la few extra treats over the course of the evening. A prawn hors d'oeuvre to start with, a glass of rose as an aperitif and finally a small cup cake at the end of the meal. In between these treats we had the usual choice of starters, mains and desserts from their extensive menu. The food, as usual, was superb and plentiful and we had some lovely wine to wash it all down. The staff were excellent and very attentive, constantly popping in to the room to ensure everything was fine and to ask if there was anything else we wanted. I'd recommend the Canny Mans to anyone who wanted to hold a similar dinner party. It was a superb evening and although the bar was very busy the staff and owners still managed to maintain a level of intimacy for our group.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PsychoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Complete dump”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Thinks it is in the middle of Kensington well I'm sorry you've a lot to learn in terms of customer service. You treat people like scum and as such I go out of my way to tell people to avoid at all costs. Food is overpriced dross. Go to Pizza Express down the road, you'll enjoy it heaps more

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Ilrisorgimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went in for a cocktail on our way out to dinner for our wedding anniversary and had a lovely time. We live locally and I had spoken to Tristan the owner on a couple of occasions as our teenage daughters know each other, however we hadn't been in the pub for at least a couple of years so I said hello and mentioned who our daughter was. We ordered Bellini cocktails and he went behind the bar to deal with our order. One of the bar staff came over with the drinks and told us they were on the house, which was a lovely start to our evening. We then had a couple of gin and tonics before heading off up the road to our restaurant. It was a lovely evening and people were sitting outside in the beer garden and there was a lovely buzz about the place. It's very quaint inside with lots of atmosphere and we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 868Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canny Man's also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Canny Man's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing