We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow what a place!”

Review of Harvieston Hall

Harvieston Hall Holiday Home Edinburgh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harvieston Hall Holiday Home Edinburgh
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Harvieston Hall Holiday Home Edinburgh
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brattyhan...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
746 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Wow what a place!”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Harvieston Hall is located only 20 mins from Edinburgh, this large and spacious building is beautiful and oozes charm, perfect for large groups or dinner parties due to its size and facilities available. We tried out the large hot tube and had great fun, bit shout out to Dave who made the whole visit magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
We're super pleased your group had such a great time with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb! ”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Spent 2 nights at this amazing mansion for a large group of girls (20 people) and we loved every minute. Fabulous location and only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre. The house itself is perfect for entertaining large groups. Very spacious, fully equipped with everything you would need for a weekend away and clean and tidy. We opted for the extra luxury of the hot tub and was definitely worth the money. Dave, was very accommodating and allowed us to check out a little later which was really kind! We went for lunch at the Coronation, a mile up the hill and had a great afternoon with nice food and great service.

A superb house and would highly recommend to large groups! We will definitely be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2015
Wow, we love groups that appreciate the house and we're so pleased you had so much fun! Love for you to come back again and if you do we shall include the hot tub FOC!! Thank you once again for the great review it means so much to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dr501
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hall in a fantastic location”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The hall is stunning, huge dining room and reception room make it fantastic for hosting a dinner party. The location is great, 25 mins in a taxi to Edinburgh and there are plenty of great pubs in the surrounding area.

I left my phone in the hall and Dave, the owner, located and sent it back to me by recorded delivery in 3 days which was testament to his great customer service.

Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
We're so pleased you had a great stay at Harvieston Hall. And i'm pleased Dave organised the return of the phone so quickly, please think of us next time you need another big dinner party or weekend away.
Thanks once again for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry R
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cant recommend this place enough”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

There were 15 of us staying at Harvieston Hall and we all had a very comfortable stay, the house was always warm (despite the cold weather) and the the kitchen is very well equipped, and we easily catered for a large dinner party on the Saturday. I would definitely recommend Harvieston Hall to others!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Perfect venue for large numbers . Beautiful house but very practical . Plenty of space for large gatherings . Hot tub was the highlight of the Holliday .David the owner was great. The bedrooms were simple and comfortable . We could not have found a better venue. Gorebridge a 10 min walk with lots of carry out options. We were 25 ladies aged 20 to 60 but it would also be lovely for family gatherings . We were there for the weekend but plenty to do locally if you stayed longer . There are 4 bedrooms on the bottom floor for guests with walking difficulties but four steps up to this level . Four beautiful bathrooms .thanks for a great time x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2015
Thank you for your review, wow we are so 'so' pleased all the girls and ladies had such a fab time. We do try so hard to make sure the property is perfect and we're very happy that the weekend went with a bang for you! You were such a wonderful group please come back and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful option for large parties close to Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have no hesitation in recommending Harvieston to any large groups looking for a big, comfortable house within easy reach of Edinburgh (there is even a bus stop right outside if you need public transport options). The house is great, enough wow factor to feel special without being untouchably pristine and the owner, David, could not have been more friendly and helpful. I booked Harvieston at extremely late notice after a previous booking fell through, I'm now so glad that it did!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Wow, thank you for your great review! It means so much to us that you had such a brilliant time! We love well behaved groups and you girls were super stars! Till next time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing