We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious weekend away in Edinburgh”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben Cruachan Guest House
Ranked #8 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious weekend away in Edinburgh”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a great weekend in Edinburgh at Ben Cruachan. Our room was beautifully decorated and every morning we woke up to a delicious home-made breakfast. Jackie was a great host and really made our stay that much more special. I would highly recommend at stay at Ben Cruachen on your next trip to Edinburgh- you definitely won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    39
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
85
483
57
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meigle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Last autumn we traveled the short distance (65 miles) to Edinburgh to see "The Lion King" at the Playhouse Theatre. A friend suggested that we should relax and stay the night in Edinburgh and recomended The Ben Cruachan B & B a very short walk from the Playhouse. This advice we followed and were very warmly welcomed by Jackie who proved to be a fantastic hostess.
Having just returned from a second stay at The Ben Cruachan, this time to see "Pressure" by David Haig at the Lyceum, I felt I must recommend this B & B on Tripadvisor. Although Jackie must see lots of visitors she welcomed us back as if we were old friends - we felt so at home. The rooms are charming and spotless but this B & B is worth staying at for the breakfasts alone, and of course the warm welcome.

David, Perthshire.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Visited Edinburgh with my girlfriend and 2 friends. A surprise birthday for my g/f and Jackie joined in on the surprise with such enthusiasm! The balloons and champagne really set us off to a good start for the holiday and my girlfriend loved it. An excellent BandB in a great part of town as we could walk everywhere although we did get a bus 2 minutes away to go to Rosslyn Chapel. Our room was luxurious with little treats of sherry and chocs and breakfast delicious, the smoked salmon was lovely and the fruit platter was a colourful work of art. We were made to feel very much at home here in this really lovely guest house.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden which was lovely and the courtyard has a little pond which lights up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had a lovely weekend in Edinburgh made more so by this beautiful guest house which is close to the city and all the attractions. Warm and welcoming host, luxurious bedroom and delicious breakfasts (try the porridge with whisky and honey)made staying here a pleasure. Highly recommend

Room Tip: I booked a room overlooking the garden and it was very peaceful. The owner tells me that all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This has to be one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in, fab room with an amazing shower,better than lots of hotels. lovely touches provided sherry and chocs wonderful, good wifi again free a wonderful breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room with very tasteful decor, you must try the porridge with the malt. This was good value for money no extras added.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Four friends used this B&B last week and it suited our needs perfectly. Quality fixtures and fittings with great bedrooms. Breakfast was amazing and the friendly hostess made us feel right at home and she gave us a great deal for using all of the rooms. Some of the bathrooms are small so would recommend that you ask for the rooms with larger bathrooms (no baths / all showers). Sherry in the rooms is a nice touch. Just a few minutes walk from John Lewis and 10 minute walk into town made this ideally located for us. The owner was away whilst we were here and the constant beeping of the answerphone did keep 2 of our friends awake at night. Just a practical thing that could be easily resolved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with one of the larger bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGrant101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

An excellent B&B which puts many hotels to shame! Very centrally located with nearby on-street parking, which is free at weekends. Lovely room with a very tasteful decor. The breakfast was extremely good, and there is plenty of choice and selection. But Jackie really made our stay the five-star experience it was. She was incredibly helpful, made us feel very welcome and clearly knows the city very well! Ben Cruachan definitely lives up to its tripadvisor status as one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
959 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 392 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Cruachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Cruachan Guest House

Property: Ben Cruachan Guest House
Address: 17 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Ben Cruachan)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ben Cruachan Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Cruachan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing