We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Christmas in Edinburgh”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben Cruachan Guest House
Ranked #7 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Christmas in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked into Ben Cruachan for 5 nights over the Christmas period and could not have been happier with our choice. Our host Jackie was so friendly and helpful, and helped add to the festive spirit with the house tastefully decorated throughout. The small complimentary decanter of cherry in our room was a lovely touch, and really helped to warm us up after chilly day trips out in the city.

Breakfast was served at our requested time each morning, and the Scottish breakfast was the highlight, a perfect start to the day. There is a beautiful lounge which were free to use at our leisure, with TV, books and games available. Our bedroom was lovely, we were in room 3 downstairs which was absolutely perfect. A large double bed, TV, plenty of cupboard space, and a large bathroom with an open shower and his and her basins. There is also a garden outside where it was nice to sit and relax with a coffee when the sun was shining.

All in all I have no hesitation in recommending Ben Cruachan House. Perfect room, meals, and a fantastic host, everything you need for a great holiday. Will definitely be my first choice on my next visit to this great city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    37
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
83
456
57
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was very impressed with the cleanliness and convenience of this B&B. But this lovely home, hosted by Jackie shows pride in ownership and everything she touches. Our stay was in the week before Christmas and each room had tastful and festive Christmas touches. I informed Jackie that my daughter had Celiac disease and needed a gluten free diet. Jackie managed to not only locate cookies and sausages without gluten but also made gluten free oatmeal in the morning. I was impressed with a perfect pot of tea and salmon locks and scrambled eggs for breakfast.

The location is perfect and we walked everywhere in Edinbourough. I would stay again in a heartbeat. Thank you Jackie for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were recommended this B&B by friends. Christmas was totally magical in Edinburgh and made more festive and homely by staying at this well located B&B. Jackie was very welcoming and accommodating of our needs and requests. The room was spotless and very tastefully decorated. The house was beautifully done and the Christmas Tree made us feel at home! The food was delicious with a wide selection and always served with a morning smile from Jackie. Lots of Scottish touches, like a wee dram in your room and Scottish porridge or Loch Fyne smoked salmon for breakfast. Lots to love about this place and Edinburgh :-) We'll be back! Would love to visit in the Summer :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatty_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Visited Edinburgh again with my husband just before Xmas. This was our second stay at Ben Cruachan , we made sure to book in advance we had so enjoyed our first time there. Again I felt I had to review this Guest House because of the excellent standard of accommodation, food and hospitality. What made our trip extra special at this time of year was the lovely Christmasy touches placed discreetly around the house and the beautiful real tree in the dining room. Edinburgh itself is a fantastic place to visit at Christmas, with the Christmas Markets, ice rink and great shops. Returning to Ben Cruachan from the cold winters weather to be offerred mulled wine confirmed what a true gem Ben Cruachan is. Thanks again Jackie.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms now and both were of an excellent standard. However the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in Room 3. The room had lots of lovely little touches eg small decanter of whisky, shoe cleaning kit. Super bed with high quality bedding. Excellent sized flat screen tv. Crowning glory was the en suite bathroom with walk in shower which surpassed many 4 and 5 star hotels.
The breakfast was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Being in Scotland I felt I had to try the porridge and must report it was the best I've ever had. The whole property was spotless and I would have no hesitation in recommending Ben Cruachan.
20 minute walk into the centre of Edinburgh. Plenty of restaurants to choose from at the end of the road. Returning within 3 weeks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshireman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I went to Edinburgh to do a little Christmas shopping and had the good fortune to stay overnight at the Ben Cruachan. The welcome was very warm and genuine,and we felt at home right away.The room was immaculate, very stylish and furnished to a very high standard as too was the en-suite facilities.The sitting room is cosy, warm and tastefully decorated with a super array of Christmas lights and decorations.We found Jackie to be genuinely friendly, obliging and informative.Breakfast was another delight freshly cooked and tasty I strongly recommend the porridge drizzled with whisky, cream and honey (a first for me and out of this world).If you are looking for a special place to stay in Edinburgh do not overlook the BEN CRUACHAN you will not be disappointed but come away relaxed and looking forward to meeting Jackie again.

Room Tip: Can't imagine any of the rooms not to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packthetoothbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Back in Edinburgh for the Christmas market so another chance to stay with Jackie at Ben Cruachan. This Lady has class. The house has been transformed into a Christmas wonderland which we were not expecting but after our magical walk through the Christmas market how nice it was to find the Ben Cruachan and our room so tastefully decorated. Thank you Jackie you are a star.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st_andrews_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Broughton & Calton
14 Hart Street
14 Hart Street
#3 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Cruachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Cruachan Guest House

Property: Ben Cruachan Guest House
Address: 17 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Ben Cruachan)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ben Cruachan Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Cruachan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing