We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edinburgh Fringe Festival”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben Cruachan Guest House
Ranked #7 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Fringe Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

we have just returned from our third trip to the Festival, with two other couples, each time staying in an up market bed and breakfast. this was undoubtably the best in every sense. The room was excellent with a bathroom which looked new. the dining room was small, but large enough to hold four tables for breakfast to match the four rooms to let. the breakfast was first class in appearance and taste, furthermore the cutlery/crockery also looked new. We were asked before our visit if there were any special dietary requests. they matched every request without fuss. We had nothing to complain about. The only downside was lack of a bath in each room, but the showers were first class. we will definitely return! Many thanks to Jackie and Kim.

Room Tip: Take the lower floor, it faces the pretty garden and there is no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarabell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    37
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
83
455
57
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

On entering Ben Cruachan guest house, we were warmly welcomed by Jackie and made very comfortable from the start. We were shown to our lovely, comfortable room. It is very clean, with beautiful soft beds and lovely décor. The delicious breakfasts were made to order and we were served by Kim in a very friendly manner, Our trip to Edinburgh was made very pleasant by staying at the Ben Cruachan. We would certainly recommend it to our friends and family. Well done Jackie and Kim as the new owners of Ben Cruachan, you are doing an excellent job. Thank you. Janet and Dennis Haydon from Portsmouth

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came upon this charming Guest House quite by accident when trying to book accommodation in Edinburgh for the festival. This is my first review on trip advisor inspired by the delightful stay we had in Ben Cruachan. We felt extremely comfortable and were made to feel very welcome by Jackie, a lovely, knowledgeable and helpful lady whose love of Edinburgh really helped to make our stay so interesting. Jackie proved to be a real history buff with an excellent knowledge of Scotland and places to visit. The Guest House itself was of superior quality, with truly delightful little touches that made it special. Jackie even provided us with a blanket and a flask when we went to the tattoo on a windy and chilly evening. We will certainly make a point of staying in Ben Cruachan when we visit Edinburgh again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the basement level looking onto the garden which was well appointed and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was in Edinburgh on a business trip and had plenty of time to plan, much to my luck. A friend advised me to check out Ben Cruachan and I was glad they did. By the sounds of things it books up quite quickly, so I felt lucky to have got a room. It's a great guest house with good sized rooms and well decorated and clean bathrooms. The bed was super comfy and I had a very restful night's sleep, even though I was in the room by the street there wasn't much noise. The breakfast the following day was great and Jackie made sure that I knew the best way to get to my meeting later in the day. I'll be passing on the details to other friends as if I ever came back to Edinburgh on holiday I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: My room was great and I think it was the smallest one they had. Pick any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Ben Cruachan is a very nice B&B in a nice part of Edinburgh. It's not right in the middle of the old part of town, which means it's a bit quieter, but there's still many restaurants and shops right outside the doorstep in Leith. Jackie made our stay very comfortable and was quite helpful in answering our questions, providing suggestions, arranging transport, etc. Our room was a bit small for our 2 large suitcases (we were in Europe for a total of 16 days, so we had a lot of stuff!), but it was very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ben Cruachan is a perfect escape from the hustle & bustle of Edinburgh in the Summer months. We were incredibly lucky with the weather & so had a chance to enjoy the charming patio & beautiful garden. Our room was spotless & the bathroom had a really contemporary designer feel, great shower! Breakfasts were delicious & Jackie is a perfect hostess. She organised dinner reservations both nights and had excellent recommendations for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coledale, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ben Cruachan is a lovely B&B situated a little away from the tourist hustle & bustle of the Old Town. We liked the location midway between the city centre and the Leith Docks district - which still has lots of character and some great local pubs and restaurants. The bedroom was delightful and the lovely back garden is a real bonus for a property so close to the city. The breakfasts are second to none and Jackie is the perfect host - friendly, welcoming and a delight to chat to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Broughton & Calton
14 Hart Street
14 Hart Street
#3 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Cruachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Cruachan Guest House

Property: Ben Cruachan Guest House
Address: 17 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Ben Cruachan)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ben Cruachan Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Cruachan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing