We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bargain find, get what you pay for, please read”

Review of tony apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Kitchen
Bath Room
Bath Room
The Master Bedroom view
Lobby
Entrance
Street
Entrance
Street
Fully equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Vixyc88
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Bargain find, get what you pay for, please read”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I found this little apartment on booking.com whilst booking for a last minute trip to Edinburgh mid week. We booked it for £39.50 for 2 of us and thought it was ideal as ideal location in central Edinburgh direct on rose Street 2 minutes from princess street and George Street. The only negative is you can't check in till 4 and the email stated you can check in early for £50 or leave your bags earlier for £25. I wasn't happy with this but as it was too late to canx the reservation booking.com approached the owner who advised can drop bags off early free of charge from 2pm. Which was much better. On arrival reading the reviews I was dubious the door way is a normal flat entrance doorway but can understand why lone travellers may find it a bit unnerving. Sadly the door way to the apartments at the main entrance is clearly used by the local pub goers as a convenient urinal (not the owners fault but could maybe be cleaned Down by whoever is responsible). The lovely lady in the Taylors next door showed us the key boxes and also let us leave our cases for the afternoon very kindly. The email with all the details came through prior to arrival and it was easy to use as they provide the code for the lock box to access the keys. There are a lot of stairs and I can see how the entrance could be off putting but no different to any old style buildings and flats in central cities. When we reached the top we were pleasantly surprised, it is spotlessly clean, great size kitchen with everything you need, oven, grill, Microwave, washer, dishwasher, fridge, mini milks, coffees, complimentary little packets of biscuits, sugar and the usuals. Plenty of crockery, full draw of every utensil going and loads of glasses, mugs, flutes. Tea towel and dish cloth and cleaning products all provided. I'm not sure what some people want. This apartment is a budget sleep in an ideal location, it has a good size bathroom with shower and bath, the living room has a lovely view of the passing busy streets and hectic Edinburgh but is peaceful and ideal for a short break. The only thing we couldn't get to work despite a great attempt was the TV so maybe some instructions how to use that could be included. It does sleep 4 which would probably be tight fit but not impossible. The bed was comfy although a little unsteady at the bottom and all linen and towels were provided. I and read previously that there was 'threatening notices' which is not the case they ask you to ensure you keep the place clean and tidy which is no more than what you expect. We were fondly surprised and both agreed we would return and recommend. Ideal for a budget break. Give it a shot and thanks for the bargain!

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2016
DID U REALLY STAY AT MY APARTMENT ?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninpraj
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Please avoid! A big No No”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Although the location was ideal, sadly there is no more to go into that list. Not at all suitable for the people who have trouble walking up the stairs as the apartment is on the 3rd floor, horrible stairs, we had trouble carrying our luggage all the way up to the room. Once we entered we could only see the 'warning' notice stuck everywhere asking to leave the room tidy and just it was otherwise the owner would fine us. Not at all welcoming and relaxing.

We stayed here for one night but we kept thinking we could have done much better than this. However the lovely Edinburg city did cheered us all and made us forget about our bad experience of this horrible hotel while leaving Scotland.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
its the second floor they stay the 2 nite they did leave the apartrment with that much mess it took us 6 black bags all we want is the guest to leave the apartment clean is that to much to ask
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay one night, pay for two!”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Tony's Apartment with my son one night last May (18th) having booked online through hotels.com.
The flat is basically OK, and you usually get what you pay for.
BUT on May 19th my account was charged by Tony's Apartment with double the amount agreed upon in the booking, it is not a banking error. Now we're in October and I still have had no positive response from Tony's Apartment, only a couple of 3-word emails.
How hard is it to put the amount due back into my account?
My advice: don't stay in Tony's Apartment if you don't want to pay double price!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: I've been charged double price
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
we did not charge double the price when the bank pre autherise the card it does not mean u or charged it just checks to see if there is money in your account to pay tonyasgaapartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony T
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not able to gain access to the apartment”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Tony's Apartment. 77/8 Rose Street, New Town, Edinburgh, EH2 3DT, United Kingdom.

We arrived at the doorway of the apartment block (at 4.00 pm - as advised) and received no response when we pressed the apartment button.

We phoned both contact telephone numbers provided, but both were "number unobtainable".

The neighbouring shop advised that the same problem had occurred the day before.

The booking company (Booking.com) also failed to obtain a response from the two telephone numbers, so we eventually booked into a hotel chain (at a considerably higher price).

We are now in the process of trying to get a refund on the 1-night deposit we paid in September 2014.

The location would have been excellent if we could have stayed there, but other reviews (scanned after-the-fact) indicate that the apartment is not quite as advertised!!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hally B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ripoff”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We expected a nice e apartment in Edinburgh instead we had a dingy flat in a rough street all the candles were used , the wifi didn't work, we were threatened with charges if we didn't leave the place the way we found it and to top it off I left dress hanging up in the cupboard and they binned it even though I emailed as soon as I got home would not recommend a stay here

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
we or not responable for your belonging it explains on the terms and conditions
all we ask is to keep the apartment tidy we charge less then �10.00 to stay in edinburgh cheaper then a hostel
leave it the way u find it
ps the password comes with virgin internet it on the base of the modem
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanfranc...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Well appointed, spacious, clean, good bathroom, excellent kitchen.
Location perfect, one block above Princes Street, 5-7 minutes walk to train station.
Caution: key safe code was not forwarded to me as stated online, luckily I had noticed the instruction and made a note of owner's phone number so resolved before arrival. Steep flight of stairs could be a drawback for less fit person(s) with big suitcase but I was very satisfied.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dishonest owner, average apartment”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This was an OK apartment that would be good for students and hen/stag parties but not really anyone else.

The apartment was clean and tidy and in a very central location. But there are some things you should be aware of (which are not clear in the property description)
1. There is no free parking (no surprise in central Edinburgh) but it clearly stated that there was free parking on my booking but I had to pay for on-street parking at £3.20 per hour.
2. There is no bedroom - this is a bedsit, with a foldaway bed in the living room.
3. The apartment is at the top of a poorly lit, fairly dingy, communal stairway. Communal stairways are common in central-Edinburgh shared housing but this one isn't nice!
4. The heating is substandard – there was only one old storage heater and we were very cold during our stay (it was January).
5. The TV/DVD etc didn't work properly - the remotes had no batteries - when we mentioned this to the owner we were told to go out and buy some more batteries ourselves - it's a small point, but irritating if your TV doesn't work.
6. There were no instructions for TV, heating, hot-water, etc. - again, not a big point but it's nice to spend ages figuring out all the appliances in a strange apartment.

All in all, it was OK other than the heating - but it is uncomfortable to be cold so we spoke to the owner Tony Asga and we all agreed that we would leave one day early and he would refund our second night. So we left after one night and were happy to pay for that night - however, he did not keep his side of the bargain and has refused a refund of our second night. I hate dealing with dishonest people and I hope no-one else has to... please beware ...

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Being lied to by Tony Asga the owner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
off street parking is avilable yes there is fold away bed tells u when u book the apartment there a tempriture switch in the hall way u need to put it on to get the heating going the battery was in the remote switch the remote on tv does work we have customer that pull the sockets out when they leave he stayed the both nite i really hate dishonest people too
ps u book an apartment in the city centre and u want free parking i have been al around the world theres never free parking in the city centre any where
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing