We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Classic Guest House
Ranked #63 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“first time in Edinburgh”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We wanted to find a nice place to stay in Edinburgh for our fist visit. We found the classic guesthouse on this website and didn't regret our choice. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The room was decorated in an old fashioned way and we just loved it !
The staff are very friendly and make sure you have everything you need during your stay. The breakfast was great, enough to keep you full until lunchtime. I especially liked the cooked breakfast. It's a quiet neighborhood and not far from the city center. We had to leave early on our last day but it was no problem because the landlord made sure we had something to eat for breakfast in our room and called a taxi for us so that we could get on the airport in time.
Definitely the best place to stay in Edinburgh. We're going back there for our next stay in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    77
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
124
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just got back from a weekend stay at the classic guest house me and my wife found the guest house very nice its pleasently decorated very clean and comfortable the hosts were exeptional they even arranged flowers to be delivered on a sunday to my wife for her birthday, breakfast was exellent in both quality and quantity, its a 15 minute walk from city centre which is an ideal place to be, we seriously couldnt fault our stay and most definately be back for our next stay in edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Found the Classic on TripAdvisor in the part of Edinburgh we wanted to stay in and it lived up to its promise. Booking was easy - picked up the phone and booked it two weeks in advance,

When we arrived everything was ready and we headed back into the middle of town. There is a great bus service into the centre almost from the front door and it takes about 15 mins - for £3.50 a day pass on Lothian Buses is well worth it.

Room was scrupulously clean, as was whole establishment, and the service was excellent - friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Breakfast was delightful and beautifully cooked.

One of the best value overnight stays for a long time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at the Classic guest house, Edinburgh. The landlady and staff are very friendly and helpful.The location of the guest house is very good for the city centre which has everything to offer being the capital city of Scotland.The room was warm and the bed was totally comfortable,the en-suite was a little small,but it served it's purpose. The breakfast was spot on, beautifully cooked and definitely enough to keep you going 'till lunch time.Would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Immediately on arrival, we had a lovely friendly greeting from Fiona, who made us feel very welcome. The double room was spotless and very comfy, we had an excellent night's sleep. It overlooked the garden at the back. The breakfast was delicious, with plenty of cereals to choose from, yogurts, cheese and fresh fruit. We had the full Scottish breakfast and it lasted us all day.The guest house is situated only a short walk from a bus route straight onto Princess St in the City - £3.80 for 2 one-way. We also had a taxi which was approx £6. We would highly recommend the Classic Guest House and will definitely be returning later in the year. It is excellent value for money. Thank you Fiona for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Classic Guest with our 2 young daughters. Family rooms are often difficult to find, but here we had a large room with a double and 2 single beds in, and an en-suite bathroom. Room was nice and clean, and tea and milk topped up daily.

The owners were friendly and helpful and we were spoilt at breakfast with warm croissants, juices, coffee and a full home cooked breakfast.

A quick taxi ride into Edinburgh. Would recommend and look forward to returning

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome was the start for my wife and i at this great little gem.clean well appointed rooms,friendly staff and a hearty breakfast were to follow.many thanks,in the words of arnie"we will be back".

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawdon_tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#61 of 444 in Edinburgh
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#29 of 444 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#37 of 444 in Edinburgh
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#92 of 444 in Edinburgh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Guest House

Property: Classic Guest House
Address: 50 Mayfield Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Classic Guest House Edinburgh, a Victorian town house located in a quiet, residential area and offering quality 3 Star B&B accommodation with free parking and free Wi-Fi close to Edinburgh city centre, Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. All our rooms are elegant, comfortable and tastefully decorated to a very high standard and are thoughtfully equipped. A sumptuous Scottish Breakfast can be enjoyed in the conservatory, overlooking our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Classic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Classic Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing