We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Star Evening”
Review of The Kitchin

The Kitchin
Ranked #45 of 2,454 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $0 - $199
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leith
Description: The Kitchin presents modern British seasonal cuisine influenced by French cooking techniques and an appreciation of the best quality ingredients available from Scotland's fantastic natural larder. The restaurant’s philosophy ‘From Nature to Plate’, is a true reflection of Tom’s passion for the finest, freshest Scottish seasonal produce and the cooking at the restaurant reflects Tom’s training under some of the world’s best chefs blended with his own Scottish heritage.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

It's easy to say how The Kitchin has arrived to the ranking. The staff is well-trained and attentive. The food- locally sourced and simply and superbly prepared is delicious. The razor neck clam and scallop starter offerings were wonderful. The salmon and lamb were also well prepared and presented. The warm chocolate soufflé was especially lovely. The room has a hip feel and the cool, dark tones was especially comforting during an unusually hot day in Edinburgh. With the exception on one member of the team who was a bit stand-offish and superior, the team was approachable and helpful.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 4journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,819 - 1,823 of 4,081 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2016

Spent an evening at The Kitchin and what an evening. Food superb, but then you expect it to be!! However the atmosphere and the staff made the night. The front of house staff were brilliant. Attentive but not overbearing, assured and professional they all knew their stuff. The drinks were well presented and overall the experience was excellent. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnmY3664TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

This was one of the most amazing meals I've ever eaten. Our server customized out tasting means based on dietary restrictions. He even helped out with our 13 year old vegetarian son. This was a meal well be talking about for some time to come. Well worth the expense and challenge of reservations. Just loves it.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank donnaparker2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Booked The Kitchin for my wife 40th. What a great experience. We both went for the classic tasting menu and every course was amazing.
The attention to detail from decor through to service, presentation and food shows exactly why it's a Michelin Star restaurant. The best food experience we've had so far.
It was great to see Tom working in his kitchen too.
Definitely recommend you trying this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Dec0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

I was given a voucher as a gift for The Kitchin and visited in May--before leaving I booked for last week, something I woud never normally do.
From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are treated so well. Staff are amazing. As for the food--WOW. This time I had the shell fish starter which is meant to represent a rock pool. The smell and the taste took me back to my childhood at palces like Dunbar. It was superb.
I will be returning without a dout.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 5n00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchin also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Kitchin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.