We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to france as you will get in this city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Garrigue

La Garrigue
Ranked #59 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Close to the Royal Mile, La Garrigue is a low-key yet chic French restaurant in the buzzing heart of Edinburgh city centre. Smart hyacinth and white-panelled walls strike a stylishly understated tone, with simple wooden seating and bright windows offering views over Carlton Hill. Cuisine is similarly deceptively rustic, specialising in signature dishes from the rural Languedoc region of southern France heartened by deft modern cooking.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As close to france as you will get in this city”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here on more than one occasion and also at their former eatery in the new town. I have always found the food to be excellent and i cant believe its this low down the list even with grumpy old paul back at the stove! I am shocked at the comments about poor value as i think its one of the cheapest 2 rossette resturants in edinburgh and certainly the most generous with their portions. Bon noel chef gauffre keep up the good work

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willyjjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jm1789, Owner at La Garrigue, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I don't know who you are Willy, but thanks for the support.
Grumpy old Paul is mellowing with age but as long as he can keep an ear on the Cricket result he is happy and happy Paul means Happy food!! He has been very suportive over the years and has help me to establish La Garrigue as a destination restaurant in town.
Keep on dinning out Willy, and enjoy the restaurants in Edinburgh,
J-Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    201
    44
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Decided to come here as it is right next to our hotel, and received good reviews. We were not disappointed. It was a little quiet on a Monday night , but started to fill up later. Really friendly waiter who asked about where we came from, our trip so far. Good choice of food, not too many to overwhelm you but enough varied choices. My cheese soufflé was amazing, and the main course of coley with red rice was refreshingly light and delicious. My dad had the ribeye steak which was really well cooked. I just had to try the chocolate fondant, which was worth every single calorie! Real little gem, highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous French Dining”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great place this is. We had a fantastic lunch here, 2 hours in La Garrigue and I came out feeling like I had escaped to France for a quick holiday...brilliant!

The menu is well thought out and interesting (in the best possible way!), what a lovely change to be offered such imaginative and enticing dishes. Our food was delicious, starters were a heavenly pear, walnut and roquefort tart (which I am still dreaming about as it was just so good) and a gorgeous soup with roast garlic. Toulouse sausage with veg and a tender beef cheek pie were perfect for mains, the sausage was served with pan fried potatoes and vegetables and was absolutely bursting with flavour, the pie was comfort heaven! Desserts....well, I could have eaten all four that were on the menu after much deliberation we chose floating islands in vanilla custard and lavender creme brulee.....need I say more!

In a nutshell this place is a gem, ever reliable, first class ingredients, thoughtful menu, superbly presented and delicious food, comprehensive wine list and service was impeccable too. What more can you ask?!

You must visit, we hope to get back soon as soon as we can sort a babysitter out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
230 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Edinburgh”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A group of us went for lunch at La Garrigue after a business meeting. A warm welcome, a large round table in a back room, fantastic value and tempting lunch menu and great service. I'll certainly go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A wonderful find in Edinburgh”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Thank you for a fantastic meal, the perfect way to end my trip with my fiancé to Edinburgh. For us it was comfort food of the first class! Generous portions and very wholesome food in a warm n cosy setting. It certainly made us very happy on a cold and dreary night. Thank you La Garrigue!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatwinlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Garrigue also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to La Garrigue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing