We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special location for a special occasion”

The Pompadour by Galvin
Ranked #134 of 2,640 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $97
Cuisines: French, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: The first Scottish venture for Brothers Chris and Jeff, The Pompadour by Galvin offers a luxurious French culinary experience, made using meticulously sourced local ingredients, and seasonally inspired flavours. One of the city's most precious treasures, The Pompadour was opened in 1925, inspired by the official chief mistress of Louis XV whose portrait adorns the walls with the Salon where you able to have pre & post dinner drinks before moving into the main dining room with its hand painted panels and original features
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The French salon decor helps create a good atmosphere. The staff are knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and attentive. The wine list is good. The food is excellent. Particular highlights were the ravioli of rabbit and the scrabster lobster minestrone. We don't really do dessert but the cheeseboard was excellent and expertly ( and generously) served by the first class maître d'. Not cheap. But well worth it.

Thank SinFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Adshead, Sommelier at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear SinFer,

Thank you for your kind words, cheese and wine are a passion of the Front of House of The Pompadour so I am especially pleased that we were able to portray that. We are very fortunate in Scotland to have great seafood and Scrabster is landing some of the best at the moment. I will happily share you feedback with both the kitchen and the waiters.

Thanks once again and hope to see you in the near future,

Peter Adshead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 509 of 621 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Pomp - fabulous location (over looking the castle), attentive staff and a relax yet interesting atmosphere. I have to say that the Pompadour was my second choice to one of Tom Kitchen's 2 restaurants. I am pleased to say that Tom's loss was my wife and my gain!

Price - oh it is worth mentioning we had the al la carte menu at ~£60/head, with champagne and tips the bill came in at approximately £250. Hence the title.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeDimelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Adshead, Sommelier at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear MikeDimelow,

Thank you for you kind words. We are very privileged to work in a Grade II listed room with views over the castle (weather permitting!). I am very pleased that you regard us in the similar echelon and we hope to welcome you back to The Pompadour by Galvin. Alongside the a la Carte and Menu Gourmand we do offer a great value mid week seasonal menu with 3 courses for £30 available

Kind Regards

Peter Adshead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Notified restaurant at the time of booking it was our 1st anniversary. Was congratulated upon arrival and made to feel very special from start to finish. Very smart friendly staff that were very knowledgeable of the food and wine on the menu. Restaurant is very grand with plenty of space between the tables. The food was fantastic, top class presentation and flavour. Very minor complaint about one of the main dishes resulted in them taking it off the bill which was not necessary. Was given an extra desert course free which the chef had decorated with a happy anniversary message. This is a top class restaurant at a very reasonable price. £58 for 3 courses, I'd have happily paid a lot more.
Thank you very much to all the staff there for making it such a memorable evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Adshead, Sommelier at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Lee J,

Thanks for coming to visit us in The Pompadour by Galvin it is always great to hear that you chose us to celebrate your anniversary. I am sorry to hear about your main course and as on the night the kitchen have been made aware of this, I am pleased to how we reacted and we were able to deliver a memorable evening for the right reasons.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Pompadour soon,

Peter Adshead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in the waldorph for our anniversary and decided to eat in the restaurant.
From the moment we stepped into the bar till we left the service was first class how this place doesn't have a mitchelin star I do not know,it was not cheap but worth every penny.planning another visit next year.if you can Afford it stay at the hotel which is first class as well

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Adshead, Sommelier at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Cath R,

Thank you for your kind words it’s always a pleasure to help people celebrate suck a joyous occasion. We will pass on your comments to our time with regards to the service, its pleasing to hear.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Pompadour in the future,

Kind Regards

Peter Adshead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I visited the restaurant on Friday the 25th with my fiancé and from the second we walked in and until we left the service was world class nothing was a problem
the food was amazing
We are talking about going back next year

Thank Dandy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas B, Sommelier at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Dandy45,

Thank you for the kind review, we are glad that we were able to help in anyway we could. We look forward to welcoming the both of you back next year,

All the Best

Peter Adshead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pompadour by Galvin also viewed

 

Been to The Pompadour by Galvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing