We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Local, International Food, Service”

Hadrian's Brasserie at The Balmoral
Ranked #246 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $55
Cuisines: European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Traditional cuisine with a Scottish twist. Our lively Brasserie is popular with guests and discerning locals alike. Ideal for a light lunch or a relaxed dinner, Hadrian's offers traditional cuisine in an informal setting. On the menu, a mix of Scottish favourites and classic dishes created using the finest regional produce. Scottish shellfish bisque. Blairgowrie beefburger. Chocolate and raspberry crème brulee. Smaller appetites are also catered for with our children's menu. The brasserie's walls are brought to life with life-sized photographs of pirouetting dancers.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
587 reviews
509 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good Local, International Food, Service”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

in great setting at an acceptably high price fo r budget travelers. We enjoyed surprisingly good meals including venison, grilled salmon and stewed guinea fowl. The latter replaced partridge, as announced in the menu, with a welcome bout of honesty (I would have wondered, but never been sure otherwise, and probably stopped short of questioning).

Each of the dishes, and the wine, surprised us as better than most we had ever tried of its kind. Worth the steepish-but-reasonable-all-things-considered price of 30 GBP per person for three courses - if without wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    233
    95
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Something or everyone but drinks service was slow”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice selection of food with something for everyone in my opinion. The food was lovely with good portions as well as quality. None of us had space for desert. The drinks service was poor. Drinks arrived at different times and had to remind the waiter we had ordered a bottle of red wine. Even had to poor our own wine into our glasses at one stage. That's normally fine but for this type of restaurant it spoilt it a little.

Helpful?
Thank DutchDiverFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, Manager at Hadrian's Brasserie at The Balmoral, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Hadrian’s. I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with the variety and quality of our menu but am very sorry that this was marred somewhat by the lack of attention with the drinks service. This is certainly not in line with the high levels of service that we aim to deliver and I will be sharing your comments with my team to avoid any such inconsistencies in the future.
I do hope that you will choose to return to Hadrian’s and would ask that you feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in making your reservations.

Yours sincerely

Gregor Forbes
Hadrian’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, good food and service”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Basic menu with strong selection of local dishes. Service was very professional and efficient.
Location is superb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Repap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty meal


The chefs menu is well worth the price £23 for a 3 course dinner. The chefs menu changes daily so that you willl always have summit dofferent to try.


Very good well worth ago

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sky279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely first experience at The Balmoral”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and daughter had eaten here on a previous 'rugby trip' - so it was my turn to sample and I was not disappointed. We turned up on a cold windy evening without a reservation and we were greater cordially ( by all members of staff) . We ordered our aperitifs! Then relaxed whilst we perused the menu. I had the smoked salmon ( whisky flavoured, beautifully, how clever) and steak frites to die for! Our daughter decided to try haggis - first time - and is now a convert. She does however realise that this was cooked by an expert and we may not be able to repeat the exercise with home cooking. My husband had venison and was alone in choosing dessert - creme brûlée. Every single item in our meals was faultless. First class everything- welcome, service, food, ambience. Hopefully we shall return .
By the way there was a group of ladies having a private dinner nearby - sounded as if they were enjoying the evening as much as we were.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Socialiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hadrian's Brasserie at The Balmoral also viewed

 

Been to Hadrian's Brasserie at The Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing