We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tasca - Omni - CLOSED

La Tasca - Omni
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Spanish flavours abound at this lively La Tasca, one of two branches of the popular tapas chain in Edinburgh. Set in the Omni entertainment complex, the vibrant restaurant serves up a large range of tapas and paella to share to its buzzy young crowd. A pitcher of sangria should get you in the mood for the salsa and merengue lessons.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Dined at La tasca last Saturday night with my boyfriend. Had been there a few years ago and remembered it to be much better than it was this time. Waiter was un welcoming and spoke in quite an aggressive tone he seemed to be very rushed to the point where we felt like we where an inconvenience for him in fact all staff seemed a bit miserable . The restaurant itself has a good atmosphere about it the only thing was I found it a little too noisy for my liking as we were seated behind a coffee machine so every time someone wanted a coffee I couldn’t hear myself think. The food itself was really good we got a mixture of dishes and each one was full of taste the mini cheese burgers in particular were delicious. I left feeling the place had not done itself justice.
Having said that I would still recommend it so go and try it for yourself

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carriexx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“nice tapas. good value 2 for 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Booked pre theatre. Was pretty busy but we were seated quickly and service was very good. I like the warm orange surroundings
Had some bread n oil and mixedolives as appetisesr and then 6 tapas to share between 2. Washed down with carafe of wine and 2 bottles of San Miguel. Because of the 2 for1 deal, bill was a very reasonable £38. Food was very tasty

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ericom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great quality dishes with a good range of choices. Food was well presented and decently priced. Nice atmosphere and knowledgeable spanish staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frogusmaximus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terriffic Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Another wonderful meal at La Taca Edinburgh, if you have never tried Tapas, La Tasca is the place to go, with lots of choice and variety its the place to try

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loftyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lacking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here before and the food was nice. Had a few of the tapas to share. This time however, on arrival we were not acknowledged straight away. Once seated my partner and i decided to have a few tapas to share as a starter and a main paella between us. To start we had chicken crocquettes, tasty enough. I had chicken wings, good size portion for tapas, not too spicy. Much partner had white fish to start. This was bland and lacking in any fish flavor. Once our main paella arrived (chicken and chorizo) it appeared nice in a traditional pan and was hot. Once we started eating my partner found a bit of paper in the portion of the dish. As it was not human related eg. A hair. We continued assuming it being a slight blip. However the onions that were in the dish were almost uncooked and overpowered the rest of the mild flavour in the dish. To finish our meal, we decided on desert hoping to end on a high. However we were disappointed. A sharing desert of brownie, vanilla cheesecake, doughnut twists, pancakes an a chocolate dip. For almost 7 pounds the dish portion size was small. The brownie was not edible, it was rock solid as though burnt. The doughnut twists had to be dipped in chocolate as they were dry however greasy at he same time. The pancakes were the size of a 10pence pence. The icecream was the best part.
Pick your game up La Tasca. Not the typical Spanish food that is expected.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NKilanowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca - Omni also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing