We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely quiet city centre spot!”

Zucca Restaurant & Cafe
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #413 of 3,024 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Zucca is an Italian restaurant, located in the west end of Edinburgh's theatre district, is a firm favourite with the pre-theatre crowds, tourists and locals alike, looking for great food without too much fuss and formality. Ideally situated in between the Royal Lyceum, the Usher hall and the Travers theatre, it aims to offer elegant but simple food, using fine Italian and Scottish produce, reflecting both seasonality and the chefs' creativity, maintaining a Mediterranean theme throughout. The food is complimented by an unpretentious selection of good wines, moderately priced; highlighting the best style each Italian region has to offer. The restaurant operates Tuesday-Saturday (bookings strongly advised for theatre times) and is open for Usherhall Sunday and Monday performances. Telephone for details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very pleasantly surprised by Zucca. As it's situated right next to the Usher Hall and the Lyceum theatre, I was sure it was going to be heaving. But no - we were shown upstairs to a very pleasant area. It wasn't too busy, the seats were not too close together, it was quiet so you could hear yourself speak and the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful.
The service was great too and the water, wine and first course came promptly. For mains, I had spaghetti carbonara which was beautifully creamy and rich.
And it is reasonable too - not inflated city centre prices!
Definitely recommended and we will return!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 376 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2019

Had dinner with friends for the first time and we were very, very satisfied. We were seated immediately on a Tuesday evening. The seafood fettuccine was great. The service was very good and friendly. A little out of the way but worth looking up. They do take reservations.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fringewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

First of all Jack the owner was amazing. Very cordial. With all the times we were there, the first time, 6 people and 3 are vegetarians. Everyone enjoyed the food. Fresh olives and bread at the table every time. Pasta was perfect! Second time 2 of us enjoyed steaks and salads and lovely desserts. Third time we stopped in for soup and bread, plus had a pizza to take back to the Airbnb for the 12 year old. Jack even loaned us a bottle opener for our sodas!
We were in Edinburgh for the Fringe Festival, perfect location across the street from our Airbnb. Can not speak enough of Jack. Has had his restaurant for 12 years. He’s from Italy!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msmacs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Friendly Italian restaurant nestled next to Lyceum. Good food served quickly and with a helping of humour. Great for pre-theatre meal

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isobelm904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

Ideal venue pretty much within the theatre. Perfect for the whole dining/theatre experience. Restaurant buzz as diners eat pre theatre or post concert.
Slick, friendly service. Tasty food. Not such a fan of all the greenery on the main but that's a personal fad.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zucca Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Zucca Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing