We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch and dinner”
Review of Tempus Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Tempus Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $66
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great lunch and dinner”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited twice in December - once for lunch - great burgers and very god service, friendly and quick. Also visited for diner - 5 of us and a 5 month baby - they place us away from the main area (as requested) and could not have been nicer. Food and drink excellent

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    101
    38
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice food, central location”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Popped into Tempus when I couldn't get a table at Jamie Oliver's. Food was nice, fresh and hot. Service wasn't the best and bar staff didn't seem happy to be there after Christmas, but overall it's a nice bar and food is tasty, using alot of local ingredients. I would go back again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FionaC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Been to Tempus a few times this year, and have always enjoyed the food. The portions aren't huge so you can do justice to three courses; probably best to order at least one side with your main course though if you don't want to be hungry later! The dining-room is a bit cavernous so if it's quiet it can lack atmosphere, but it was busy for our recent Friday night visit and felt quite relaxed. We didn't have any problems regarding service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Tuscany
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Disappointing on all fronts...”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Return visit after our first impressions back in January (see review) but have to say it's gone downhill... far and rapidly.

Evening service was very poor. Atmosphere terrible (just a few bored hotel guests who wished the'd gone elsewhere). Waitress was keen to help but gave the impression she wasn't really being supported by rest of team. Hostess giirl on door (pretty but ditzy) was more interested in the barmen than finding us a table. Dishes were overpriced, standard hotel fayre. Not much variety and very small portions. All in all, very underwhelming start to our stay at The George.

Tried it during the day too with our business team. But same poor service, bland food and downbeat staff.

Summary:
Hotel is good.
Tempus in the hotel../ avoid

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CupletBalsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Arrived for lunch and things did not get off to a great start. Firstly a couple who arrived after us got served and seated first. When we were greeted (by two different members if staff) we were given a table fir 2 although there were 2 adults and a toddler. We asked for a bigger table and the member of staff said she would need to check. In the meantime we were left standing in the middle of the restaurant with a pushchair and toddler which wasn't much fun. After about 10 minutes and watching the member of staff sit at least two other parties we just sat down anyway. We were then approached by our waitress asking if we were ready to order! We explained the situation and she went to speak to the girl who was supposedly sorting our table who finally returned to tell us that we could get a bigger table.
We then had at least another 30 minutes wait on our food arriving. When it did arrive, it was lovely however having to wait 40ish minutes in total for it meant trying to eat and pacify a bored and hungry toddler.
It's a shame really as the food here is good but having spoken to friends who have dined here and having read some if the reviews my experience doesn't appear to be a one off.
Our waitress however, was great. She was warm and friendly and so helpful. I would return to the restaurant but would book a table and make sure I wasn't in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisoneScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempus Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing