We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't go back”
Review of Cafe Hub

Cafe Hub
Ranked #634 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit
sheffield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Food wasn't bad but service poor and not so friendly, we had the edinburgh pass and could get 20% off our bill but they didn't quite get it and we got less than 20% off so beware.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsshuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    126
    46
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It's my third visit to Edinburgh but my first time at cafe Hub. I came with a friend of mine who I haven't seen for a almost a year and he showed me this amazing place. We had the pie of the day which was chicken and asparagus.It was perfect. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely I would come back on my next visit to Edinburgh. Thank you

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm right on the High Street”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went into the Hub on a horrible cold day in early December , and sampled their mulled wine and mince pies- absolutely delicious and very reasonable ( £4.50) Beautifully served in an elegant tall glass mug on a white plate - and the mince pies were warm. Just the ticket !The sofas are comfortable and you can forget about the hurly burly going on outside for a while.In the summer they have tables outside, but in the winter , I think people don't realise it is there ! My husband has been back since for morning coffee and 'bun' which he said was equally good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Although we live quite close to Edinburgh and visit frequently this was our first time in this venue. We were doing the touristy stuff with family and overseas visitors, complete with one very young child in a buggy plus eight adults with some very fussy eaters in the mix. On a cold wet day (good old Scotland) we also had plenty of coats, umbrellas and bags to make us even more cumbersome to deal with - overall a challenging task for any cafe/restaurant on a weekend lunchtime..

Initial impressions were good, with a spacious entrance , well decorated and modern within an old converted church. The cafe area itself was bright and airy with plenty of room for our clutter, including the buggy.

We were greeted by a young lady who could not have been more welcoming or accommodating who proceeded to make major re-arrangements to the table layout to suit our requirements.

A request to heat up the baby food was met with swift efficiency with whatever on earth it was returned perfectly heated through even before we had decided on our own food choices.

The menu choice was varied, ranging from soup and a sandwich up through burgers and chips and the ubiquitous Haggis, Neeps And Tatties and beyond.

All eight main courses were delivered to the table virtually simultaneously, which considering the diverse range ordered, was in itself very impressive.

The food quality was excellent, and our overseas friends thought the Haggis to be 'not what they expected but very tasty'. Those who ordered chips with their meal thought them to be some of the best they had ever had. All eight expressed themselves as highly satisfied with the visit and thought it good value for money.

A mild criticism of the venue is the clean but slightly careworn lavatories which could be improved with just a little effort.

Once again I must comment on the exceptionally helpful and pleasant staff encountered during this visit. For once I was not required to be apologetic about service standards in the UK!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeHub, Manager at Cafe Hub, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write such a kind and thorough review. You were a delightful group to have in and we were really pleased that you felt well cared for and that you enjoyed your meal.
Please do come in and see us again soon! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lacklustre and lukewarm”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Hub has an excellent reputation as a venue, so when we were visiting the Camera Obscura yesterday and a 10% discount at Café Hub was offered with the entry fee, we had no hesitation in popping in for a coffee in the afternoon. What a disappointment. Service was lacklustre and the food and beverages well below par. Our coffees were weak and as lukewarm as the service. We ordered thick cut chips which tasted like they had been fried in old oil, very greasy and with an unpleasant after taste. When we went to pay the bill, the staff member was unaware of the discount arrangement. There didn't appear to be a manager on site and the staff were disinterested, verging on incompetent considering the simplicity of our order and expectations. Would not go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifiscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hub also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing