We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left waiting”
Review of L'Alba D'Oro

L'Alba D'Oro
Ranked #1,305 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Left waiting”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I ordered online and got the response that it was successful. I waited an hour and called. The woman on the phone said I was banned! I have never used them before and will never try again! I expect they were making up excuses as a result of either forgetting my order or not being insured for delivery in my area. Either way they should have let me know.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    17
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Generally good”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've enjoyed my takeaways from L'Alba D'Oro. Food is generally freshly cooked, with an interesting diversity of cuisine spread across the neighbouring establishments. Not the best fish/chips in Edinburgh for me, but still well worth checking out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine Fish and Chips”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fantastic fresh fish and chips with a few seats to eat indoors if you want. If there's no room you can go next door to the Italian takeaway that they also own. Haddock and chips was great - lovely thin batter , skinless fish and crisp chips.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great fish supper and quick home delivery”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We are on holiday and fancied a fish supper. This place was nearby and did home delivery. Ordered on the pgone and 20minutes later we had delicious fresh fish and chips. Fresh crumbly fish and nice chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harrierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Has to be one of the best fish & chop shops in Edinburgh - almost always busy, but staff never looked swamped. Seems to always have a good regular clientelle, and there's a real friendly atmosphere to the place.

Service is friendly and fast, there's always a great choice on offer (including an ever changing range of more unusual fish to try) and there even couple of seats in the window to sit at whilst you eat.

It's not much more expensive than some other chip shops in Edinburgh, but the choice and service more than makes up for it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Alba D'Oro also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to L'Alba D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing