We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vibrant menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of First Coast

First Coast
Ranked #57 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opening Hours:- MONDAY - Saturday. Lunch 12pm-2pm Dinner 5pm-10.30pm West Edinburgh wasn't a dining hotspot, but charming, inviting, delicious First Coast is one of the establishments that have been changing that. A comfy toddle from Haymarket station, First Coast is quite an intimate, relaxed shop front restaurant done out the blues and greys of the sea, with rough hewn centre wall and super smart detailing. The frequently-changing modern Scottish menu lists meat and fowl as well as fish. Starters include very tender marinated squid, soy and sesame salad, mains include spicy grilled chicken breast with homemade sweet chilli sauce and coconut rice, and sweets include deep fried jam sandwich with vanilla ice cream- seriously. Short, thoughtful wine list, good vegetarian choices and warm service.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Vibrant menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

First Coast is a place for good value, big flavour food. There will always be something on the menu I'm unsure of or that I haven't had before, but this is what I love about the place! The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable about the food that there has never been a problem when I ask them questions. This is my second visit to FC and this time around I went veggie and had the Turkish platter which was delicious, and my husband had the coley, cooked wonderfully.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    186
    37
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

It's been a while since we visited, but it was as good as I remembered. The food was nicely proportioned and excellent. I had a pumpkin stuffed mushroom followed by venison. All excellent. Wine choices were good and the desert of hazelnut and chocolate meringue was so good my husband didn't get to use his second spoon.

Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited after seeing reviews on TripAdvisor and so glad we did!

It's a bit out of the centre of Edinburgh - we were staying near Waverley Station and it was a 30min walk or so from there (on the way we broke the journey up with a stop at a bar in Grassmarket). Walk back was fine - nice to get some fresh air to walk off such a nice meal! Imagine it is it's location which makes it such good value - if it was nearer the centre it would probably be much more expensive.

Service was good, we were served by several staff and all were lovely - although some more than others. My wife had venison and I had chicken and leek suet pudding - both were brilliant! For dessert we shared a pumpkin cake which was amazing!

Overall lovely a restaurant, great value and definitely worth the trip if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1st class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We have visited here a few times and it has been lovely every time. Staff are very friendly, food is fantastic and atmosphere is nice and cosy. Would definitely return

Helpful?
Thank Misstartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“sorry wont be returning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

visited due to the excellant reviews i had read, but very disappionted..
looked through the window at lunchtime looked great we had a table booked for the evening and the choice was nothing compared to what we had seen earlier!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank angelasyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Coast also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to First Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing