We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad service”

All Bar One George Street Edinburgh
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
OR
Order Online
Ranked #903 of 3,072 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: All Bar One George Street, Edinburgh is a stylish city bar where you can catch up with friends, unwind after work or simply find a sophisticated space to indulge in an excellent selection of food.Within easy reach of Queen Street, High Street and Hanover Street, All Bar One George Street Edinburgh is the perfect place to meet up with friends or unwind with work colleagues. Of all the bars in Edinburgh, we've got the right blend of food, drink and atmosphere at any time of day.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To start with we booked a table in advanced, arrived at the bar to be told that they’d try to find us a table! Safe to say we weren’t too pleased as we had booked the table for our friends 18th. After we were seated we were treated by a delightful waitress (notice the sarcasm) she wasn’t very enthusiastic... fair enough you don’t have to love your job but a smile every once in a while wouldn’t hurt! She was very blunt, rude and very slow at clearing the tables etc as it wasn’t a particularly busy Tuesday night. We heard multiple other groups complaining about her, The food and drinks were really nice and definitely worth the money but not in a hurry to go back as the service overall is terrible.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Annareilly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place. Booked a table and opened a tab. Drinks and food were spot on. Waiters were friendly. Girl at door (wish I knew her name to single out her fantastic service) looked after us and was really nice

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank jaypK3525RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at All Bar One George Street Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good value with Groupon voucher. Burger not worth £14 but tasty. Sharer dessert was good. Staff very nice but hard to track down if we wanted anything like ketchup

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R3288XYhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at All Bar One George Street Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

R3288xyhannah, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Visited yesterday. We hadn't booked but got a table although it was busy. Staff were attentive. We had drinks and a meal, choosing 3 small plates for 1 person and the tempura haddock for the other. Food was lovely. We had desserts - yummy and followed by a cocktail.
Quite noisy place but it was still nice.
Cost was reasonable too for the city.
Would definitely return again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at All Bar One George Street Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Maureen D, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Visited last Tuesday evening for a quick bite after work. Have always enjoyed this ABO in the past so was just quite disappointed at the general experience we had. Sat down, were told by the waitress we couldn't have a soft drink instead of a bottle of wine- not sure why as surely a bottle of wine is more expensive than a couple draught cokes. Also weren't told there were no prawns until we went to order, not a big deal and wouldn't have mentioned if it was the only thing! Ordered 2 of the vegan soft drinks that were on offer in January having checked it with the waitress first. Ordered the tapas which was pretty good. When we tried to pay, the waitress took my partner's phone away (twice) for extended periods to 'sort' the drink offer. She and her manager were clearly talking rudely about us in eyesight- we've both worked in hospitality so we know how it goes. When she finally came back with the phone she said the drinks were chargeable unless we ordered a main as per small print- not sure why she couldn't have told us this before. So we ended up paying £10 for 2 tasteless, non alocholic fizzy water 'vegan cocktails'. We just laughed at that point but to be honest, just really poor service and average food. You'd think they would welcome the custom on a quiet January evening.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank LenaCarter2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Bar One George Street Edinburgh also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to All Bar One George Street Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing