We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks”

Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant
Ranked #229 of 2,571 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $86
Cuisines: European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: With the scenery of Edinburgh Castle and the Firth of Forth, the Forth Floor Restaurant at Harvey Nichols certainly has a sense of drama about it. The stylish elements of the decor, such as the circular lights which begin to glow red once the sky becomes darker, and the Scottish flavours found through the restaurant menu all inspire an adventurous dining experience with the finest quality food. Meanwhile, the brasserie makes for an enjoyable alternative, presenting a modern take on conventional European cuisine, and the extensive wine list includes over 350 different varieties of wines and champagnes. During the summer months, it is also possible to enjoy meals outside on the large terrace, overlooking all of Edinburgh.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were visiting Edinburgh for a spot of retail therapy when we decided to have drinks in this lovely restaurant overlooking the city fab views. We all just wanted a drink and cocktail or two. The waiters were very attentive to our needs although it was just drinks and will be back in the near future for something to eat as it looked so good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank 186534Shazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi Shazza,

It’s great to hear that you stopped off to recharge after a ‘spot’ of retail therapy; given our location on the top floor of Harvey Nichols we can fully appreciate how sometimes you just need a nice cocktail or two to keep you going! We would be delighted to welcome you back for something more substantial next time, you can book online through Tripadvisor (Bookatable) or just give us a call and we’d be happy to reserve you a table.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 762 of 991 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Visited here last week. Got a great table in the window and enjoyed watching the sun go down. We dined off the Sunset Dining Menu (3 courses and a cocktail for £20). The cocktail was very summery and the food from a set menu was very good. I've noticed this on previous occasions and this time too that once the staff have brought your food, they don't really come near you again. We had to try for ages to catch someones eye to get more water and then again to get the bill. I wouldn't mind this but the staff are all over you when you first arrive to see if you're ok. It's just such a contrast between the start and end of your meal. But I will probably go back for the views alone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beanie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hello Beanie14,

Thank you for taking to time to post a review about your visit to the Forth Floor Brasserie. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and cocktails; our Sunset Dining menu has proved very popular this summer. We are very sorry however to hear that not everything was perfect on this occasion. Your comments have been passed on to the Brasserie Management Team who, we can assure you will fully take them on board. It is only through genuine feedback such as yours that we can continue to improve the service we are offering. We can only hope that on your next visit we will be able to make you feel much more looked after from start to finish.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Visited Edinburgh for first time in 30 years, and looked for a English type restaurant, wanted a treat for lunch, looked on trip advisor and HN had a good review, we also wanted a nice view over the city, you certainly got that in the restaurant, excellent service, beautifully presented and fantastic tastes. The views were amazing even on a bad weather day like we had. If you want a nice bit of class and to get away from the crowds then this is a good place to eat.

Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi Martin,

Thirty years is far too long to stay away from beautiful Edinburgh, but where better to enjoy your return than with the panoramic city view from our beautiful restaurant! We suppose we’ll let you off describing our very Scottish menu as “English type” since everything else you’ve said is so nice. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and we’ll hopefully see you again before another thirty years have past.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fabulous food, drink and company. Service was excellent, wine waiter was extremely helpful and attentive. We finished the meal and took over the bar but never felt rushed or pushed out. This really was a fantastic treat and we were so well looked after. Made our stay in Edinburgh a wonderful, memorable experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi Lisa,

We’re delighted that you chose to celebrate your anniversary dinner with us here at the Forth Floor Restaurant and that your experience was such a positive one. We’ll hopefully see you again next year, if not before!

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The best bit of this place is the fabulous view. I had a cocktail that was pretty average but expensive if you have more money than sence perfect choice for you.

Thank Rosered66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi Rosered66

We’re glad you enjoyed the view, but obviously disappointed you didn’t enjoy your cocktail. All our cocktails use fresh ingredients and we carefully select the best quality spirits and liqueurs for our list. It would be great to know what cocktail you had… If you can DM us with more details we can provide you with more feedback.

Thank you for leaving us your review.

Kind Regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing