We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cocktails ever!”

Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant
Ranked #223 of 2,591 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $86
Cuisines: European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: With the scenery of Edinburgh Castle and the Firth of Forth, the Forth Floor Restaurant at Harvey Nichols certainly has a sense of drama about it. The stylish elements of the decor, such as the circular lights which begin to glow red once the sky becomes darker, and the Scottish flavours found through the restaurant menu all inspire an adventurous dining experience with the finest quality food. Meanwhile, the brasserie makes for an enjoyable alternative, presenting a modern take on conventional European cuisine, and the extensive wine list includes over 350 different varieties of wines and champagnes. During the summer months, it is also possible to enjoy meals outside on the large terrace, overlooking all of Edinburgh.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Came here for a couple of cocktails and a wee snack. I have to say that the cocktails were about as good as you could expect, which they should have been at £8-10 each! Worth every penny though if you're feeling flush. We had a charcuterie platter and a fromage platter which were both very very tasty. Staff were nice and hard working, and the place had a real vibrant buzz about it. Only took a star off for the price, but it is Harvey Nich's I guess! lol

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Hi Steven,

Thank you very much, “Best cocktails ever!” is lovely to hear and we are delighted that you enjoyed your drinks, snacks and the atmosphere so much. While some of our menu items may appear a little pricey at times, you can rest assured that the products used to create those items are of the highest quality. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re feeling flush.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 814 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

For a department store to run a walk in restaurant of this quality is bordering on the unbelievable - this competes with the Michelin crew in Leith at a fraction of the price.

Service is friendly and professional, food is of the highest quality (the seafood bar is not open on a Monday to ensure freshness) and for a 2 course lunch with a glass of wine you will pay under £25.

Phenomenal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r15xeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNForthFloor, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are exceptionally proud of what we have to offer here on the Forth Floor and it is always extremely gratifying to receive such high praise from one of our guests. We provide multiple areas to cater for different tastes and budgets but the thing that runs true through them all is friendly, professional service and high quality produce. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great latte and pure fresh hot chocolate...not powdered. Great shortbread too. Good value for money, no more expensive than Costa or Starbucks. Great view from restaurant.

1  Thank Angel2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNForthFloor, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. Our Bar Team are very proud of all their hot drinks. The chocolate they use is a special Valrhona blend made for Harvey Nichols which is gorgeous and dark with a minimum of 70% cocoa solids, perfect with whipped cream on top! It’s available in the Foodmarket too if you feel like indulging at home. We look forward to seeing you for your next caffeine fix.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Booked lunch in the restaurant for my sisters birthday, the food was excellent with the £30 three course menu and service was of a high standard,staff very attentive and helpful.Glad I has booked instead of brasserie which was very noisy and busy on a saturday afternoon.I would return again for a special occasion.Thanks for a lovely afternoon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Memepartygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNForthFloor, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi,

It’s great to hear that you and your sister enjoyed her birthday meal with us in the Restaurant so much. Our Restaurant Weekend Lunch Menu (3 courses for £30) is proving very popular on both Saturday and Sundays. Many happy returns to your sister and we hope to see you both for your next special occasion.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went to Harvey Nics for a late lunch. The service was impeccable and the food and cocktails matched up too.

Nothing is too much bother and the seating isn't too squashed either. A welcome haven of tranquility when shopping has become too much!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eclair74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNForthFloor, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It’s really great to hear how highly you rate our service, food and drinks. Whether it’s in the tranquil setting of the Restaurant or our slightly livelier Brasserie, you’re quite right – nothing is too much bother! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing