We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Breakfast with great views”

Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant
Ranked #226 of 2,554 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $88
Cuisines: European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: With the scenery of Edinburgh Castle and the Firth of Forth, the Forth Floor Restaurant at Harvey Nichols certainly has a sense of drama about it. The stylish elements of the decor, such as the circular lights which begin to glow red once the sky becomes darker, and the Scottish flavours found through the restaurant menu all inspire an adventurous dining experience with the finest quality food. Meanwhile, the brasserie makes for an enjoyable alternative, presenting a modern take on conventional European cuisine, and the extensive wine list includes over 350 different varieties of wines and champagnes. During the summer months, it is also possible to enjoy meals outside on the large terrace, overlooking all of Edinburgh.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We enjoyed a 1st class service with our meal from the Forth Floor's simple breakfast menu. Nothing was too much trouble and we were quickly served with excellent tasty food - plus a great view on a cold February Friday morning!

We would be happy to eat there again on our next visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank birdcontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNForthFloor, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast in the Brasserie and that we were able to provide you with a warm vantage point over the city. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

798 - 802 of 980 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

For our friends Birthday we enjoyed afternoon tea looking over the city of edinburgh. The food and service were excellent, cant wait to visit again

Thank Katep74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi,

We are thrilled to hear that you and your friend enjoyed our afternoon tea in the Restaurant; always a popular treat for birthday celebrations. We’ve recently expanded our availability for this particular treat so you can now also book on Sundays. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we can’t wait until your next visit either.

King regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wonderful lunch at the 4th floor restaurant. The views of Edinburgh are incredible, even on an overcast January afternoon. The decor is warm and modern, and the service attentive. The food was great quality, fresh and served in generous portions. Loved the sea bass dish, which was carefully adapted to be dairy free. My colleagues chicken polenta dish was equally tasty. Will definitely return.

Thank Scotgirlinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch at the Forth Floor Brasserie so much. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food, service and décor. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleague back in the near future.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been to the Forth Floor restaurant on four occasions over the last few years. It is a nice treat if you are out for a day of shopping/pampering and would like a special meal - or indeed for a celebration.

My last visit was at the weekend when in Edinburgh on business. We went for the £30 3-course menu.

The food is top quality and the service just right. The staff are attentive, friendly and very efficient. During the meal I enjoyed a delicious, light, smoked salmon starter, followed by a chicken main course and the cheese to finish. Each course was cooked to perfection and wonderfully presented.

The restaurant is designed in an airy, stylish way and has wonderful views looking over towards George St.

I would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aoife S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi Aoife,

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your visits with us over the last few years. Our Restaurant weekend menu is a great offer at the moment with 3 courses for £30. Thank you very much for your kind comments with regards our food, service and décor; they are greatly appreciated, as is your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went here for lunch with my Mum. She is gluten & lactose intolerant so we have to be careful. this however was not a problem and they had separate dished that could be made to help with this. Would recommend for allergy suffers. Service good.

Thank Littlebigfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForthFloorTeam, Manager at Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your positive review. Our Kitchen Teams are always more than happy to adapt items from the menu to suit any dietary requirements; we are delighted that we were able to help your Mum enjoy a nice lunch with us.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

The Forth Floor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing