We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Edinburgh

“Best enchiladas in town”
Review of Viva Mexico

Viva Mexico
Ranked #382 of 2,802 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: The Gonzalez family opened Viva Mexico in August 1984, intending to bring the true taste of Mexico to Edinburgh, and 31 years later we are still striving to do the same. In the intervening years there have been many changes, notably in how the restaurant has grown, but we are still trying to do what we set out to do all those years ago - to give all our guests a real flavour of Mexico. With three rooms spread over two floors the restaurant is equally suited for romantic dinners for two, quick business lunches or parties, the back room particularly can cater for a single group of up to 25 seated at tables or 40 as a buffet.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my favourite Mexican place in Edinburgh. Most of the times I go for the afternoon lunch menu but the evening menu has "mole" dishes which are hard to find around. Also only place making enchiladas with corn tortillas. Taste is good portions are good. Margaritas a bit pricey tho.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 849aliasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in for lunch and we loved it. From the friendly staff to the quick and efficient service. Cheesy nachos to start and chicken burritos for main. I was stuffed. Freshly cooked and very very tasty.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Really like that they offer a lunch deal which is really good value for money!

They bring food really quickly so don't worry about sitting hungry!

Would recommend the sonoras and the sangria!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank cm2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Sorry so say I think the cook was of the day we visited. I had calamari to start and it was not real calamari, reconstituted mush straight of the freezer, my wife had jalapenos and they were straight from the freezer but that was to be expected. The mains were both chicken dishes but my wife's chicken had no definition to the chicken pieces and was just slime.
We like to use small independent places to eat but we should have read the signs when we walked in as there was only one other couple in the place and the woman was siting in here jumper and wooly hat as the place was rather cold.
Needless to say we won't be returning.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Tethas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

We ate here on NYE. having read it was the oldest and most authentic Mexican restaurant in Edinburgh - we weren’t disappointed.
Fab environ, lovely staff and great service. Food lived up to our imagination, and generous portion sizes, especially compared to all the chain Mexican restaurants out there.
Wish we lived closer so we could go back!!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank PeachSquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Mexico also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Viva Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing