We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising Service (not in a good way)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valvona & Crolla Caffe Bar

Valvona & Crolla Caffe Bar
Ranked #608 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Leith
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprising Service (not in a good way)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Caffe Bar definitely caught me off guard in terms of the service I received. I'm used to the hospitable and polite service received in the likes of their shop and the Angels With Bagpipes restaurant. However, the hosts in the Caffe Bar seemed quite sharp and therefore impolite. To throw a spanner in the works, one of my party required soy milk - which they were unable to accommodate; prompting us to get up and head to Nero. Definitely not somewhere to judge the V&C brand on, stick to the other options eg. AWB/Centotre

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    97
    46
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“just regural bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

They try to pretend that they serve organic and local (Italian) food but realy its just another caffe bar. Speak of food - it is definitely too expensive for what they sell - it is kind of italian local but not all and not best quality.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rgasiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very good, though a bit on the pricey side.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visit V+C when we're feeling flush or when the kids are out on sleepovers as a treat! Very nice breakfasts, excellent lunches, lovely wine (and wine recommendations with menus). Good children's menu and all the temptation of the shop on the way out. A real treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kgwiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and I regularly visit this place as we live just around the corner from it and go for breakfast mainly - if you are needing the meat after a heavy night or because you have a busy day ahead of you - then go for the full breakfast - with Italian sausage polenta cake and black pudding that has never tasted so good then this is just what the Dr ordered - however if you are like me a prefer something a little less filling I'd recommend the full veggie breakfast - grilled vegetables and polenta all finished off with a perfectly cooked egg make this "healthy" breakfast able fill you up for the rest of the day, we sadly do tend to order the same things however on occasion I've had the porridge which is perfect with lots of extras and choices of milk and the bacon roll with the optional vine tomatoes are perfect! Hidden at the back of the deli in which you will stop and smell and taste things on the way through the lovely girls will show you to your table and look after everything - definitely service with smile and my other half tells me the coffee is amazing! - and if you are still hungry on the way out they have an amazing display of freshly cooked bread and pastries as well as antipasti and cakes to die for :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jemma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Duns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Simple, amazing quality and always reliable. Not trying to be fancy just know what they want to do and do it brilliantly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rhavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valvona & Crolla Caffe Bar also viewed

 

Been to Valvona & Crolla Caffe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing