We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Sweet Melinda's - CLOSED

Sweet Melinda's
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bruntsfield
Description: A cosy, relaxed bistro in the bustling centre of Marchmont, Sweet Melindas provides food delivered fresh every morning to both returning regulars and new visitors alike. The small front room is bright and airy during the day,with the kitchen open for lunch from midday until 2pm, providing great value for money. Dinner service begins at 6pm with a fantastic atmosphere created by candlelight and a playlist of easy listening and acoustic tracks. The menu contains a good mix of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, with daily specials on the blackboards. Wine-wise, the selection has been chosen to match the menu and is contained within an excellent price range of £15.50 - £32.50 Per bottle. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Quaker Hill, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Four of us dined here after reading good reviews on line. This small, but cozy restaurant does not disappoint. The seafood was excellent especially the scallops. In fact all the dishes we sampled were great. We loved the appetizer with carrots and the attentive waitress got the recipe from this talented chef for us. The entire staff was super friendly that made our evening very memorable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    41
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Cosy Place”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We ate here on a visit to see our 2 sons who live nearby in Edinburgh/Marchmont. Looked up restaurants near to their flat and Sweet Melinda's had good TA reviews. The service, atmosphere and especially the food were superb. The fish and shellfish were really fresh and cooked brilliantly, especially the scallops.
Prices were good for the quality of food received and the staff were attentive but not overbearing at all. Make the effort to leave the City centre and take the 41 bus to Sweet Melinda's - you won't regret it!

Helpful?
Thank Dokieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A year on, still an exceptional restaurant”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We love this small perfect restaurant. It serves real food, beautifully cooked. The easy but professional service is also very welcome, and not as common as you would hope. I remembered from last year that the chips were to die for. We ordered them again (rather greedily as they were completely unecessary with the dishes that we had chosen) and I am delighted to say that they still are! When you first walk in (booking is recommended) it feels that, very luckily, you have come upon a closely guarded secret of 'locals in the know'. The prices are also very reasonable for food of this quality. We have only been for lunch, so don't know if dinner prices are quite as reasonable. I would say, if visiting Edinburgh, walk to the south of the city, over the delightful Meadows, to find this place and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifebeginsatfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxing ambience”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The two of us had a great meal at Sweet Melinda's. On a Saturday evening in the festival, the service was friendly and prompt, but unhurried and the food was delicious. The short yet interesting menu gave us some difficult options, but resulted in no 'food envy' as all our choices turned out to be good ones! We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueC125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, quaint restaurant”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Found this in the very helpful Wallpaper city guide. Incredible meal in a cozy restaurant with black & white photos covering the walls. The chef makes all of the food in house including the bread, and sources the seafood from the market next door. Truly one of the best meals I've ever had, I see why it's popular with the locals. Its about a 20 min walk from Royal Mile.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SFtravelingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Melinda's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing