We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Set Lunch With Wonderful Wine Pairings”

Restaurant Martin Wishart
Ranked #138 of 2,507 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $311
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Martin Wishart, an Edinburgh-born chef, has firmly established himself as one of the UK’s most highly respected chefs. It is the importance of fresh ingredients, discipline in the kitchen, a passion for food and a deep understanding of classic French cooking techniques that have continued to be the backbone of his style. He fell in love with the industry and now has more than thirty years’ experience in the business. He is now an established and multi-awarded chef and restaurateur, awarded a Michelin star for 23 consecutive years in Edinburgh. He is one of Scotland's most appreciated and respected chef. Awarded by the Harden's guide Top 100 Restaurants at number 7 in UK in 2023.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Restaurant Martin Wishart never disappoints - the setting is lovely, the staff ensure everything is perfect for you, the food is truly outstanding, and the wine pairings work wonderfully. The attention to detail and creativity in the kitchen stun me anew each time we visit. We are world travellers, and this has become our favorite restaurant in the world! Dining here is always a unique experience.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mollyshumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 533 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2016

We chose different tasting menus, one with meat and one with fish. Each dish was a treat, beautifully arranged and carefully developed tastes. The staff lead by Jean Christophe were helpful and welcoming. It really was a treat!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

Had a really excellent meal at this restaurant, the food was truly amazing in taste and presentation. We did the tasting menu, that might of been just on the expensive side but it's not every night that you dine at this caliber some of the courses would not have been what we would pick if out for a meal but yes we really enjoyed them
The staff were excellent and could not of been more helpful, although we were booked for our meal at 6.30pm on arriving at 6.25 the doors were still locked and we had to wait outside the restaurant
The atmosphere in the restaurant was a little stuffy but still ok, definitely a restaurant we would eat in again

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank bluejames985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Venue was lovely, food was amazing, staff professional and friendly. The whole meal became a wonderful relaxed yet special experience. Visited on a holiday. If I lived nearer I would be rebooking immediately.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank LuElleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 27, 2016

I was taken by our son for my birthday dinner and the meal was amazing. We all had the fish , shellfish and crustacean tasting menu. Every course was a taste sensation and beautifully served and presented. Though one course I actually hated which was the langoustine tartare but I hate sushi so not a surprise. Apart from that everything was absolutely delicious as one would expect when fine dining. The only hitch was the absolute hassle to receive and settle the bill. One payment machine and it goes around slowly at random. Our poor taxi was waiting for 25 mins at least. It did not spoil the evening for me but totally irritated our son! Really needs attention by the restaurant as not nice end to such a special evening.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ajkedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Martin Wishart also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Martin Wishart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.