We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb. Every time”

Restaurant Martin Wishart
Ranked #21 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $102
Cuisines: French, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "toptable Dining Awards 2007 - Runner-up: Best Ambience category

The award-winning Martin Wishart restaurant in Edinburgh 's port of Leith is a stunning fine dining experience not to be missed. The relaxed cream and mocha colour scheme, fresh flowers and flawless service provide the perfect backdrop for the exquisite food. Wishart – who has worked with super-chefs such as Marc Meneau, Albert Roux and Marco Pierre White during his high-profile career – has a dedicated team of eight chefs working overtime to create the restaurant's Michelin-starred modern Scottish menu. We love the lobster and smoked haddock souffle with soubise spinach; the partridge and foie gras with red cabbage and apple sauce; and the roast loin and civet of hare with apple, beetroot, salsafi and black pudding sauce. "
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Superb. Every time”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Before we book our hotel, we book MartinWishart's. It is a long drive from North Yorkshire but we have been visiting here for many years and have never been disappointed. Service is first class, everyone is so welcoming and the food out of this world. Flavour combinations are exciting and so well judged. Everyone here cares about what they are doing and it shows. Fantastic dining experience

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GillWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    140
    50
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Exquisite lunch after a brilliant 'demo' at the cook school. The staff, at both the school and the restaurant, are absolutely delightful. Such a pleasure to dine there eating the most wonderful food. Hope to be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Should get a second star”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We've eaten in many Michelin starred restaurants and this is one of our favourites. It really deserves better than it's one star classification. We opted for the tasting menu and everything was delicious and beautifully presented. Fantastic value too. We'll try to get a table for our next visit to Edinburgh, but that is proving difficult!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“The Best in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have dined at this restaurant on a number of occasions plus a number of the other Michelin star restaurants in Edinburgh. Martin Wishart stands above them and in our opinion is by far the best. The food, service and ambiance are simply superb.
The occasion for this visit was their special Autumn Tasting Menu. This consisted of 5 courses plus the usual little extras between courses. All for the bargain price of £45 (normal 6 course tasting menu is £75).
As always, the staff excel at putting you at ease, explaining the menu if required and unobtrusively looking after you as the evening progresses. The food - they say you first taste with your eyes. At Martin Wishart each dish is a visual work of art together with a beautiful blend of ingredients all working together to give a 1st class dining experience.
Highlights on this occasion were the scallops and the soufflé.
So, if you want the best Edinburgh has to offer give this restaurant a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Really enjoyed the whole experience. We had the tasting menu and it was absolutely delicious, all 7 courses. Service was excellent although you have to concentrate on what the waiters are saying when they describe your food as there is so much to it. Recommend you ask for a copy of the menu to look at it as they are explaining the food. Allm in all a fantastic, if not cheap, night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAngus1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Martin Wishart also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Restaurant Martin Wishart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing