We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Restaurant Martin Wishart
Ranked #23 of 2,506 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $104
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: "toptable Dining Awards 2007 - Runner-up: Best Ambience category The award-winning Martin Wishart restaurant in Edinburgh 's port of Leith is a stunning fine dining experience not to be missed. The relaxed cream and mocha colour scheme, fresh flowers and flawless service provide the perfect backdrop for the exquisite food. Wishart – who has worked with super-chefs such as Marc Meneau, Albert Roux and Marco Pierre White during his high-profile career – has a dedicated team of eight chefs working overtime to create the restaurant's Michelin-starred modern Scottish menu. We love the lobster and smoked haddock souffle with soubise spinach; the partridge and foie gras with red cabbage and apple sauce; and the roast loin and civet of hare with apple, beetroot, salsafi and black pudding sauce. "
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had some doubts before i went as i thought it would be pretentious, but it really wasn't. Had the taster menu and it was well worth it - a real treat. The service had the right balance of being attentive and not in your face all the time. My only criticism was that we were seated very close to other couples and could easily hear each others conversations.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hartley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    145
    51
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Martin Wishart”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fantastic experience from walking through the door the welcome, the decor, the food and the wine make for a great meal out, each course gets better and better with excellent presentation and flavours that are truly amazing. The wines are superb and all in all it should not be missed by people who live in Edinburgh or visitors.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frandouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top quality, great service, fair price”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

First visit.

Friendly welcome and great service throughout the meal. Never pushy, yet very professional.

We chose the tasting menu and the recommended wines with each course. We were not let down and learnt a lot about the wine/food balance.

We confess we tried to book into the "other" place in Leith, but they were fully booked.
So the MW experience was a bonus. Another bonus is it's on a direct down hill line between the Scotch Malt Whisky Society and Malmaison.

Very pleased to see MW was rated higher in a recent national newspaper survey.

We wiil be back - if we can get in - next time we travel through Edinburgh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Treat”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having been fortunate enough to eat in many starred restaurants round the world, I rate our lunch at Martin Whishart's in my top 5 of all time. An absolute treat from start to finish with charmingly helpful staff and stunningly delicious food. I wanted to stay on for dinner. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallyb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have eaten at a number of Michelin stared restaurants and for me this is simply the best.
Everything from the ambience on arrival to the attentive staff and very pleasant surrounding are wonderful. The food is just terrific and the experience was very memorable.

Not inexpensive to dine but well worth the experience. I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Martin Wishart also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Restaurant Martin Wishart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing