We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”

Number One at The Balmoral
Ranked #7 of 2,506 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $92 - $122
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Memorable flavours and world-class cuisine. A truly outstanding culinary experience, worthy of its Michelin star for the 13th consecutive year. As one of the finest Edinburgh restaurants, 'Number One' presents an innovative blend of Scottish and French flavours. Saute Foie Gras with duck confit. Borders lamb, broad beans and grelot. Rhubarb and white chocolate panna cotta. Take a seat on the golden banquettes and sample some of Scotland's most creative dishes from our tasting menus. Equally striking are the original artworks from The Royal College of Art that hang on the red lacquered walls.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Where do I start, we ate here to celebrate our first child only being a month away. We expected from what we had heard that it would be good, it out done our expectations in every single way. To start the atmosphere is amazing and the distance between tables is great so you never ever feel cramped or like you have to talk quiet.

On to the food, its advertised as a three course meal but in reality its at least a five course as they bring you small appetisers in between courses. These were all great and of the highest quality. All the food was excellent and the portion sizes were perfect so at the end of the night we felt just right and never had to force anything down and feel too full.

The staff are all very very helpful and knowledgable and they get it just right without being pushy. They ever ran after us to give us a box of fresh made sweets in a little box to take home. All in all its a very special experience and in my opinion well worth the money.

I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,170
    146
    46
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aquitaine, France
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday dinner”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at the Balmoral Hotel and the restaurants that we knew in Edinburgh (like Wishart's) are closed on a Monday so easiest thing was to book into Number one, the Michelin * restaurant in the hotel.

It was a great decision.

The food and service were excellent and great value for the quality provided.

Canapés, amouse bouche, entree, main, pre dessert, dessert and petit fours were all excellent, and when we complimented the waiter on the petit fours he brought more, and the plate had "Happy Birthday" piped in chocolate ... nice touch.

The sommelier was knowledgeable and helpful and wine selection more than adequate.
A pleasant experience and a nice way to spend our last night in Edinburgh.

Helpful?
Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“How to celebrate a 40th anniversary and leavinng the restaurant feeling robbed!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Iphoned the restaurant a few days before in order to book a table for Sunday 14th of october.I was congratulated and assured we would have a table for 19h30.
After a cocktail in the bar .we arrived in the restaurant and told there was no reservation under our name;may I add the 'lady ' who checked was not very understanding and just seemed to assume we had not booked...No apologies ,despite the fact we told her it was a speciall occasion! She told us we could have a table but we had to leave at 21h.
To our amazement,the restaurant was only a third full and remained so the whole time we were there!
We cannot critisize the dishes except for the ridiculous size .The service was extremely done in a pompous way ;2 waiters arriving with 2 huge plates on a massive tray held by one in front of the one serving! To our dismay,the food seemed lost in the middle of our plates.
We left still hungry,angry and with the feeling we had paid not for the food and wine but for the excessive service .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, Director of Food and Beverage at Number One at The Balmoral, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent visit to Number One. The restaurant staff typically take great pride in providing a highly attentive and personalised service to our guests and I regret if this was not your experience. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your visit further and would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel on 0131 556 2414.

Yours sincerely
Alexander Feij
afeij@roccofortehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“superb evening”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

had a marvellous meal, a riot of flavours and colours and beautiful presentation, excellent staff who were very helpful yet unobtrusive, the decor is elegant with a 20s feel, quite sumptuous, cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best dining experience !”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have used this restaurant and as the first time, we found the experience exceptional !
Very professional , fantastic top quality service , fantastic top quality settings, fantastic top quality food - just perfect!
We had the A la carte menu , and we could not fault either the service, food or the quality of it all!
The staff are extremely knowledgable, very friendly and very professional .
They do everything they can to make this a first class dining experience !
I cannot recommend this restaurant enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markgraham74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number One at The Balmoral also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Number One at The Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing