We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Seafood at great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #164 of 2,448 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: The Mussel Inn Seafood Restaurant in Edinburgh is firmly established as one of the city’s most popular restaurants. Located on Rose Street just off Princes Street right in the heart of the buzzing city centre, we are a favourite choice of locals, tourists and business people alike.Mouth-watering, fresh seafood dishes created with top quality ingredients such as mussels, scallops and oysters sourced from Scottish waters, and prepared to the highest standards by our chefs is guaranteed with every visit.
Valpraiso
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood at great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is obviously booming, we also received the somewhat unusual '2 hour notice' greeting referred to by an earlier reviewer. That said, we had a fantastic meal. Seafood Chowder was warming, thick, tasty and delicious. My oysters were absolutely luscious. My partner had the Thai tiger prawn, also thought they were sensational. While the service was a bit sloppy the food more than made up for it. We came in on a Thursday evening without a booking and couldn't get in the door - Friday (when we booked) there were quite a few empty tables- so I think they need to re-think their unique greeting!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2traveloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    679
    180
    53
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noisy interior, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We came in and the first impression was ok, loud with basic decoration. The service was good, although we did have to wait a while for the check. The mussels were not as expected, despite them being very fresh and de-bearded, the sauce was milky and not seasoned very well. Overall a good tourist place, but not somewhere I would go for a regular meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Applesauce10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre menu what a cheap tasty treat !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, I wanted the cheapest deal on Rose Street and I think I found it. Two courses pre-theatre time, and only 11 pounds. A lovely busy cafe style dining room, nice waiting staff, fast service. The seafood chowder was a big bowl of creamy heaven, and then the Moroccan mussels main dish was hot and spicy and full of flavour. It came with a choice of salad or chips, I chose salad, which was dressed and tasty. Didn't bother with pudding as it was not part of the deal and couldn't see anything I fancied. I totally recommend this place if you like fish and seafood.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BorisCatBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good seafood, for a decent price. Better atmosphere and service can be found at the more expensive restaurants on the port of Leith. Make sure to enjoy rose street, usually quieter than busy Princes Street.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank globalgal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but too rushed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked a table for lunch here yesterday. We knew we only had the table for 2 hours but as soon as we walked in instead of a welcome this was barked at us. Having been offered coffee and dessert it was then suggested that we move to a high table by the door as again we were told the table was booked for 4pm. At this point we still had 20 minutes on our allocated table. We noticed everyone coming in got the same two hour limit barked at them instead of a welcome.

Shame as we had been various times in the past but would not go back. They are obviously just interested in passing trade and not a regular clientele.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FalkirkLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing