We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food fantastic service”
Review of Indigo Yard

Indigo Yard
Ranked #783 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food fantastic service”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Visited this restaurant on Thursday. Very busy and we were offered a table right beside bar fairly busy but staff came and advised us that another table away from bar was now available. Food was really lovely, there were 4 of us and all our meals were excellent. Could not fault anything, especially our waitress who was called Lizzie from Dundee. She was excellent and went out of her way to look after us. Unfortunately, we had to leave to catch bus to Fife just as group was setting up or would have stayed longer. Would Definately eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    214
    124
    77
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“It's ok for lunch”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

A busy city centre restaurant. We ate from the lunch menu and the food was fine and very inexpensive. Service was ok considering the number of tables occupied. However, I wouldn't go there if time was short. Good wholesome food at very low prices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonnieAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice food, prompt service”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my visit to Indigo Yard for a business lunch (particularly as my colleague picked up the bill) We both opted for the mackerel nicoise, which arrived promptly, and really was packed with flavour. In and out in less than an hour - perfect for business

Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing venue, food and drinks let down only be the service”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Love this place it's laid out and decorated so well, had the burger it was amazing and I've eaten here before always very good love the drinks list but the service is inattentive at best and unprofessional at worst. This venue could be so amazing but having empty glasses on my table after plates are cleared even though the drinks were finished before my food, unable to order more drinks or deserts from my table as the staff are always at the bar chatting to colleagues both on and off shift, not one person asked how my food was generally just forgotten about after my initial order was made and having worked in some of London's and Edinburgh's top venues a swell as at sea more than anything is disappointing to see what would be amazing venue be mediocre because if something so simple I would also have easily spent another £10-£15 today with better service maybe the owners need to look at the management of this place

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good for a nice meal”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Met friends here for dinner and it was reasonably busy for a week night but we managed to get a table. All of us ate from the 2 courses for £10 which was an excellent deal and great quality for the low price. We'd gotten our drinks from the bar and the food arrived quickly. Staff were not the most attentive but we had no issues with them. We were offered more drinks and checked back on which was great. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misskirstyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Yard also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Indigo Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing