We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food That You Will Never Forget........”
Review of Iggs Restaurant - CLOSED

Iggs Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Food That You Will Never Forget........”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hi Folks, wee had the pleasure of eating in IGGS on Friday night past, wee were visiting Edinburgh for the weekend from Ireland, It was one of the nicest meals wee have ever experienced, the flavours, presentation, waiting staff, just fantastic, well worth the visit guys, you will not go away disappointed......if there was Gold Award this Restaurant would certainly get it from me....Thank you to Marco and team for looking after us so so well......definitely when wee are visiting Edinburgh next year wee will definitely be dining at IGGS....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamasbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    34
    15
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant evening”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My hairdressers is opposite Iggs and I've often wondered what it was like. We then saw it appear on an episode of the Restaurant Inspector and decided we'd need to try it when we got chance 'post makeover'. A 'living social' deal came up so we bought it and went last night.

It's sad to see some of the negative reviews on here, as our food was served exceptionally quickly, was fantastic quality and both Marco and Nikki did everything to make sure our time spent at Iggs was nothing but great. They were also being as attentive and friendly with all the rest of the customers without being overbearing. The restaurant was full and everyone seemed happy.

The menu is brilliant, it doesn't give you too much choice which can sometimes be more of a hindrance than a help, and most of the dishes are available as either a small or large plate. We had cod and aubergine to start, pork and scallops for main and an almond tart and rice pudding for our dessert and everything was delicious, full of exceptional quality fresh ingredients and came really quickly!

We'll definitely be backs and will be recommending to friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynzsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spanish cuisine”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Have eaten here several times over the last year (and before) and each time have found the food and service to be faultless. Staff are very attentive and happy to answer any queries regarding food or wine choice (from the extensive wine list) and the food is delicious, clearly cooked to order and simply scrummy. I cannot figure out why this Edinburgh institution (having existed for more than 20 years) is not more popular but I would highly recommend that you try it out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnie_S_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Quite a good experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We ate here between shows at the festival, attracted by the convenience of tapas style food. The choice was fairly limited - spanish dried meats were good, cod very good. Service was not very cheerful - both waiters apparently Spanish but one, who had just arrived in Edinburgh, did not speak enough English to understand the order. Some interesting Spanish wines and a good selection of sherries. Not a place I would choose for an evening out but perfect for our purpose.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nae gangin back here”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Food wasn't great. Veggie options limited and a bit greasy. Meat & fish options not that appealing either. Service was ok but they didn't seem particularly keen to please. Atmosphere a bit like a bright canteen rather than an intimate or pleasant restaurant. All in all this wasn't a disaster but it wasn't really much of a pleasure either. No obvious reason to go back - sorry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kit h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iggs Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing