We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch...”

Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant
Ranked #537 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Established in 1963, Scotland's first vegetarian restaurant "The Salad Table" is still proudly serving fresh, wholesome and tasty food. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or visit our deli shop for some takeaway and a loaf from our onsite organic bakery. Our restaurant is set up cafeteria style, offering a relaxed and informal dining experience, featuring live music every night, it's perfect for families, young and old, and still run as Janet Henderson envisioned 53 years ago.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Edinburgh has become a regular break for us now for a number of years and we always have at least one lunch at Henderson's, wouldn't miss it, always find the food very tasty, and interesting... and good value... staff are typically friendly, smiley and helpful, bit quirky 60's environment, but that's fine by us, after all we have gone for the food and it's part of Henderson's. Will be there again in May so hope everything is as over the years, however we tried an evening and it was like we were in another place and have never returned for an evening meal... great shame. But great for lunch, really !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Titancorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    318
    144
    121
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
994 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
“An institution in need of new ideas and better food.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Henderson's is an Edinburgh institution that has been around long enough (decades) to see it genre - a vegetarian (and a vegan one at that) restaurant - usurped by the inclusion of veggie options in nearly all eateries. So, it has to be special to hold its own. Sadly it has not kept up and has hardly changed. We chose a soup and a couple of salads. The latter are sold as two helpings for a little under £4 or three for a little over that. There are hot as well as cold options and cakes and, of course, home made breads and delightful crisp thin oatcakes that are offered with the soups. My soup was lentil and apricot, an unusual combination with not a hint of apricot flavour and blended to a thick puree. I tasted three of the salads that differed in combinations of ingredients and in colour and textures but not in taste. To me this is a change from the past when the salads were exciting and full of flavour. It seems strange that an egg mayonnaise and a bean salad can taste the same and no different from cabbage, apple and sultana.
And the basement seating area looks just as it did twenty years ago.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
321 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Lovely soup”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I had veggie soup for lunch. It is not a restaurant really , more like a small eatery. Service was good, soup was lovely. We also bought some glutenfree products and some great Scottish honey. This is not a place to have dinner but for breakfast or a small healthy lunch, this is a fine alternative in the center of lovely Edinburgh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ate here several times during our stay in Edinburgh. Enjoyed the bistro more than restaurant, as it had a more intimate feel and felt less like a cafeteria. The food is spectacular and was so thrilled that they sell cookbooks with their more popular recipes. Found the price very reasonable. Ben our server was super friendly and we would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLRnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So disappointing!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was visiting from Manchester and I was told about Henderson's. so I booked a table in the restaurant. It's ok inside but I was expecting a restaurant and not a canteen. We paid nearly £30.00 for 2 bowls of pasta with halloumi and 2 bred rolls. It really wasn't worth it and it sort of ruined our night. Can't comment on the service because there was no service. Definitely not going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elpida T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing