We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
Review of Frankenstein Pub

Frankenstein Pub
Ranked #394 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: It’s not everyday that you stumble across a pub hosting daily live monster shows. As daylight fades and the twilight hour approaches, this famed Edinburgh venue’s spooky spectacle combines lights, music, sound effects and an animatronic Frankenstein monster, which descends slowly from the ceiling. There’s truly nothing like it in town. There’s plenty more going on away from the dramatic entertainment, too. It’s a great spot for food, with the freshest produce used for everything from the must try haggis fritters to a range of delicious saucy wings and indulgent burgers. Classic cocktails are a steal at £6.95, slashed to just £3.95 all day if you’re visiting between Monday and Wednesday. Frankenstein is also a raucous party spot. Come at the weekend to find the tables swept away and live DJs dropping the party hits until late, and the pub hosts Edinburgh’s biggest karaoke night on Sundays running from 8pm until the early hours. Frankenstein Bier Keller a perfect venue for holding large groups, private hire events and functions. It follows an Oktoberfest theme with long wooden tables, steins of premium beer and a German themed menu to match! There are a wide range of package deals available to make sure that your group receives the true Frankenstein experience!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great food and just across from the national history museum, Good drink to relax after a long walk around the museum. Never felt rushed

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    216
    107
    53
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, great service and great night out!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've eaten here a lot and the food is always absolutely great and very reasonably priced! I've also read that they are getting a new menu so I cannot wait to try it!! The waiting and bar staff are always very friendly and very very attentive! Much higher standard of service than similar establishments in Edinburgh - they really seem to care about their customers!! The Irish bar staff in here are definitely the best ;)! At night, especally the weekends, this place is bouncing. You can always guarantee that you'll have a brilliant night in frankies! I've also seen lots of kids in here around lunch time which is really nice as they obviously make a special effort for families - perfect as it is very close to the museum! Brilliant atmosphere and brilliant staff! Definite 5 star :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Day turned into a Great Night”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was visiting the local museum with my parents as they had visited me for my Birthday when we came across Frankenstein. I had previously made a flying visit when at Uni but never stayed long enough to actually enjoy it. This time we did, we went in at around 4pm and left around 12am. The service was great, we had food and drinks which where all to the highest standard. The staff where unbelievably friendly and made us feel so welcome. They even kept a tab open for us after we had finished dinner. I would highly recommend this to anyone. If they can continue in this vain then they will only go from strength to strength. Thanks for a great day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LegenDerry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect end to the week”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were visiting Edinburgh on holiday and on our last day we went on a ghost tour which took us past the world famous frankenstein. We are so glad it did- we made it in time to have some food, reasonably priced and very tasty. Brilliant cocktails, friendly, helpful staff and quirky decor. Defiantly a must on a return visit and would highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jem3092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Frankenstein Pub, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your trip to Frankenstein's. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and a safe journey home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went here on a pub crawl, and it was our favorite pub. The atmosphere was great, and they had karaoke. The highlight of the night was when an animatronic Frankenstein came down from the ceiling.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mtette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Frankenstein Pub, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your feedback about your time at Frankenstein's. I am happy to hear that you had a good night and I hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankenstein Pub also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Frankenstein Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing