We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!”
Review of Dubh Prais

Dubh Prais
Ranked #30 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I chose Dubh Prais because of good reviews on Trip Advisor & wasn't disappointed. It's a small place, I would never have even noticed it up on the street I don't think. I took my family there & as we walked down the stairs they were very suspicious & wondered why I had chosen a place in a cellar as they called it. However the good food & service won them over by the end of the evening! The Haggis starter was standout for me although the steak I had for main was meltingly tender. It was a very hot night & my sister was struggling & fanning herself with a leaflet at which the staff brought her a small hand held electric fan! I would recommend a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    767
    145
    42
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bantry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food, restaurant, staff and chef. Not to be missed.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you only eat out one night in Edinburgh this is the place. Myself and my son ate here on our last night in Edinburgh. I'd promised him steak and he was not disappointed. I don't understand how anyone could give this restaurant a bad review. Although the sign said fully booked on the little white door I chanced my arm and went down and asked if there was a table for two and luckily for us they said yes. The service was impeccable. The food was unbelievable. Cooked to perfection. I almost regretted ordering a glass of wine as it was taking away from the taste of the food. I had medallions of beef in a red port sauce with roasted potatoes and vegetables and my son had the Aberdeen angus steak in a whiskey and mustard sauce. Then we both had the chocolate mousse for desert. Oh my god, how does he do it.
The restaurant is very small and intimate and you can easily miss the unassuming entrance so I would say we were very lucky to get a table without booking. I don't think I've ever shaken a chefs hand with such sincerity as we left a restaurant. To date that has to be the best meal I've ever had. Thank you all at Dubh Prais for an unforgettable culinary experience. I will definitely be returning if I come back to Edinburgh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarissagurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Salmon melted in my mouth!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying WOW!!! This place doesn't look like much, but the flavors of the food were harmonious and the plating well presented. If one has the opportunity to eat here while visiting Edinburgh, you in for a delight.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Mmmm so tasty”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Traditional Scottish food, locally sourced, the staff were exceptionally knowledgable about everything on the menu. The best Haggis ever. Would go back again and again and again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went here for our wedding annivesary on the advice of comments here. Wasn't disappointed. It maybe on the the Royal Mile so you may think it would be touristy and costly.Couldn't be further from the truth. It really is a gem, food is excellent and staff were so friendly. Will return when we go back to Edinburgh. One tip it is best to book and it is small and we saw numerous people sadly turned away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Time4aHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubh Prais also viewed

 

Been to Dubh Prais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing