We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate”
Review of Dubh Prais

Dubh Prais
Ranked #30 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Intimate”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband love this little restaurant. the food is amazing, staff are very welcoming.the butterscotch pudding has the thumbs up from me.lol

Helpful?
1 Thank kerry32edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    140
    42
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Make sure you take time to visit this resturant. Read the reviews on tripadvisor and decided to book. What a great find lovley staff and the food was out of this world. Sauces so good they should be bottled. Great value for money worth every penny

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Posypostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is a great place, the reviews are true !!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was looking for a place to eat with clients this week in Edinburgh and of course I consulted Tripadvisor and this restaurant came in at number one.

We did not have a reservation but we were lucky enough to get a table.

The venue was great, the food and wine could not be faulted and the staff were great.

There was nothing about this place that was negative and a great place to entertain guests demonstrating with the best of scottish fare.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Lovely food but pricey”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Edinburgh for my daughers 16th birthday. I decided to visit Dubh Prais after checking out the reviews on Trip Advisor. Location was excellent for us as we were staying at the Carlton on North Bridge so this was just around the corner. The exterior and entrance are a little underwhelming as is the restaurant itself which could probably do with a freshen up. I was surprised how small it was and only has around 7 or 8 tables a tiny corner bar area and a equally small kitchen. The waitress was very friendly and attentive as she explained the specials and took our drinks order. The food selection was quite small but we opted for the garlic mushroom and the meat selection to start and fillet of beef with a mustard sauce for main. Both were delicious and the quality of ingredients was apparant. We did not have a dessert as we were both full. The total for 2 starters and mains along with 2 soft drinks was £76 (including service charge) The food was lovely and I could not fault anything but I did feel it was pricey. Nice for a treat or if money is no object but not sure if I would rate it Trip Advisors number 1 restaurant in Edinburgh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, bad price... expected more!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were really excited to get a table here after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor for Valentines Day. However, this is the one time that I have been ill-advised!

The decor was poor and outdated, it's just a small basement and very underwhelming. The loos are right next to the tables too, minor point, and the tables are small, there was no atmosphere.

Good points - the haggis starter was lovely, we enjoyed it. No problem with the food itself.

However, it's just the price - value for money is very poor. The mains were very expensive £25 ish, and just 'good'. The water came by bottle and this was £4-5 - very unreasonable. We left feeling a bit cheated, especially after paying the not-so-optional tip (the room is so small it would cause a scene if you mentioned it!)

Would not go back and would not recommend - for that kind of money I would expect a lot more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cricky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubh Prais also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dubh Prais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing