We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run of the Mill”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dubh Prais

Dubh Prais
Ranked #28 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Sandiacre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Run of the Mill”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Only in Edinburgh for a few nights, so wanted to pick out a few decent restaurants before we came. As it was, we booked somewhere else for our first night (also reviewed) which was absolutely stunning by comparison to this restaurant.

The menu is not particularly elaborate but I much prefer it that way. The meal was ok with some nice combinations and nothing was served badly. The atmosphere was quite loud and at times it was difficult to converse. The restaurant was busy and the staff were rushing about like flies which didn’t help the ambience, although they were polite if not personable.

My other annoyance is the automatic adding of a 10% service charge to a bill. It is up to the customer to decide if they would like to leave a tip - not the restaurant!

Overall, the food was good, but the atmosphere noisy and rushed. I would much prefer to spend exactly the same amount of money at the restaurant we went to the previous night, which was 5 courses including the complimentaries and which was served in a fantastic setting with attentive, pleasant staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    138
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service, a real treat!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

we had seen the reviews on here prior to booking the restaurant for our recent weekend stay in Edinburgh.
I telephoned the restaurant to make a booking, and James called me back to confirm.
The restaurant is a little difficult to find, but worth seeking out, next door bu one to the Mitre pub on the High Street section of the Royal Mile.
The restaurant itself is tiny, but we did have sufficient space between the tables.
we ordered the West Coast broth, which was delicious, followed by venison for me and the special Aberdeen Angus for my Husband. They were both delicious and well presented.
Followed by a large portion of chees and biscuits and all washed down with 2 bottles of red, followed by coffee.
The service was excellent but unobtrusive ( a pet hate), and the staff friendly.
You get what you pay for and this was worth every penny!!
Met James as we were leaving and he is a thoroughly nice bloke.
We would recommend and return!!!
Excellent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyRommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Michelin * Quality Restaurant”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited Dubh Prais on our recent weekend visit to Edinburgh on the weekend of Burns' Birthday.
We cannot praise enough the quality of this small and romantic restaurant which has outstanding food and service at very reasonable prices.
We have travelled extensively around the world and have visited many high quality restaurants - this has to be up there with many of them.
All the previous reviews are absolutely right in what they say - this is one of the most friendly unpretentious and welcoming restaurants in the city.
Long may it continue without change.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tetley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A definite recommendation!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in Edinburgh for Hogmanay and were recommended Dubh Prais by a friend.
It is a tiny restaurant almost like having a meal in someone's private house...tables are very close together so you feel you have to chat very quietly...it certainly makes it very easy to eavesdrop on some very interesting conversations too!
The food was delicious!
The haggis starter is a must, the portion is very generous & the sauce is divine.
We both had the beef special and shared the lemon shortcake dessert...all wonderful.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bex2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited Dubh Prais during a short stay in Edinburgh and I'm so glad they fit us in. A quaint venue with a friendly atmosphere and amazing food. To start I had the mushrooms with bacon and garlic, my partner had haggis in oats, we ended up sharing a bit as they were both so good! For our main we had the saddle of venison with guinea fowl fritter, everything on the page was gorgeous and the venison just melted in the mouth it was such good quality and so well cooked. For pudding we both had butterscotch terrine which was well worth squeezing in after the first two courses. Then came the coffee with homemade shortbread and chocolate fudge...oh my! Absolutely amazing from start to finish, definitely going to be returning on my next visit to Edinburgh! Thank you for making our holiday very special Dubh Prais!

Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubh Prais also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dubh Prais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing