We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dubh Prais

Dubh Prais
Ranked #30 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Went with a large group (14) so ate off group menu . Plenty of choice . Service fantastic and quality and taste of food amazing . Two of party couldn't eat any of sweets on Menu so they rustled up great fruit salads. Feels really intimate restaurant yet they managed to cater for large group extremely well. Some great little touches including remembering who had ordered what and the tablet and shortbread at the end of meal :-) would def go back. - maybe romantic meal for two next time

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    137
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure on The Royal Mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Varied and interesting menu, mouthwatering food and lovely staff all presented in this intimate and atmospheric basement restaurant! What are you waiting for...........?
P.S. Book in advance

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shrek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

On a recent trip to Edinburgh we checked out Trip Advisor to suggest a place to eat. Dubh Prais was a restaraunt we decided to try. Its the sort of place you could walk past without even seeing it because you go down some steps off the pavement . However it is worth looking for. The staff are very friendly explaining every dish in detail and the food is excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank malcjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

My fiancé booked a table here for my birthday, I was pleased as I had previously eyed it up on trip advisor before.
This is a small intimate place, perfect for romantic dinners.
I would not go here with a group of friends.
The service was top notch, I was greated by a "happy birthday".
The staff are very friendly.
I had a platter of different highland meats to start which was delicious!
My main was the chefs signature dish, which was fillet steak in an amazing sauce, it was served with roast potatoes and plenty of fresh veg.
For desert they recommened a strawberry and blueberry cheesecake which was again amazing!
As it was my birthday it arrived with a candle and "happy birthday" written in chocolate on the plate.
I could not fault any of the food and was gutted when it came to an end.
The foods not cheap but it's worth every penny.
I even shook hands with the chef and thanked him for the incredible food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahW2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old-school delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Forget the molecular gastronomy, the fusion, and amuse-bouche: Dubh Prais is old-school Scottish fine dining done superbly. The haggis starter was to-die for, and the venison was so tender I could cut it without a knife. The tiny basement atmosphere--warm with the scents of masterful cooking wafting over the tables--is equally half the draw. The service is attentive, professional, and laid-back in a manner absent from so many of today's finer establishments. The wine selection was extensive enough and provides very good value. Overall Dubh Prais was one of my top two favorites in a 4-day rush through 1/4 of the top 20 TA rated restaurants and more.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieanelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubh Prais also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dubh Prais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing