We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of The Dome

The Dome
Ranked #226 of 3,024 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $67
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fine food and deco. However, I was really disappointed with the service. Got a table in a corner and was completely left there. It took quite long time everytime I need to order, ask for the menu and bill and even when I need to pay. I even stood up and no one really care to come. Also I asked to bring everything together since my train was about to leave in a couple of hour, and ended up waiting more than 15 mins to get the dessert. Plus that the restaurant was not even in the busy time.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank linlin92019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 6,835 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was recommended by a taxi driver. When we walked in we thought this is going to cost us. We were so wrong the prices of food (which was lovely) and drinks were very reasonable and the service was great. It is such a beautiful building and I have never walked into a toilet and said wow!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LancashireDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second time having afternoon tea at the Dome. Delicious food with a good selection of teas and great service from staff. Lovely decor and atmosphere. An enjoyable experience overall.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LavenderTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting from Australia and heard that the Dome was worth a visit. First impression was favourable as the decor was very impressive. Unfortunately the staff weren’t. We found a table and waited....and waited. After 5 minutes we were given a menu for drinks, then waited....and waited. Eventually we left. While the place was busy every one around us had been served so it wasn’t hectic. Disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank irenes352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the Dome for a Saturday night birthday celebration.

The exterior and interior are both very impressive.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The food was good, but not great. My wine was really disappointing, but the espresso martini made up for it!

The friends I dined with were more impressed than I was.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank princessprycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dome also viewed

 

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing