We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the burgers”
Review of Bell's Diner

Bell's Diner
Ranked #545 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's all about the burgers”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

What an amazing place! Proper homemade burgers with great toppings, and great fries. Very affordable too. A great little place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northrussrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    51
    21
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ... consistently”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

With Bells Diner you know exactly what to expect and you get it. Great burgers with super toppings, perfect chips and the choice of the exact sauces that you'd want with your feast. Desserts are it a bit of a hit or a miss, but if you stick to old favourites (any of the sundaes or sticky toffee cake) you simply can't go wrong. Love this place for what it is - simple, unpretentious, tasty comfort food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem for Burgers”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Being a huge burger fan, I thought I had been to all of the burger joints in Edinburgh. How did I miss Bell's?
The burgers are fantastic! The salad, chips and relishes are great. Service is outstanding. Atmosphere quaint/nostalgic?
You have to eat the burgers here. You will not be disappointed. My wife, kids and I love going to Bell's, which we now do regularly. Prices are really reasonable too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Straightforward - A burger place, but a very good one.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The interior is not over whelming, but the service is very friendly and helpful. The menu is straightforward - burgers and other associated burger type things.

The food is very well executed, the burgers were fantastic!! There was a huge array of relish and sauces. The milkshakes are also very good. And it is relatively inexpensive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OwlMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just as i remembered”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having moved away from Edinburgh many years ago, this once favourite of mine beckoned me back on a recent visit to Edinburgh. Well, what can i say that i would not have said 15 years ago - Excellent - just as i remembered, nothing changes, same good quality, value and service. The old adage, if it ain't broke, don't try to fix it. Its as good now as it was throughout the 1980's and early 1990's. Many thanks for a great evening, will be back soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell's Diner also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Bell's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing